The long wait is over! Carbery Rangers crowned Cork SFC champions!

October 16th, 2016 6:30 PM

By Southern Star Team

Captain James Fitzpatrick lifts the Andy Scannell Cup!

Share this article




CARBERY Rangers were crowned Cork SFC champions for the first time in the West Cork club’s illustrious history at Páirc Uí Rinn earlier this afternoon.

The Rosscarbery side saw off the determined challenge of their conquerors in the 2014 decider, Ballincollig, and bring the Andy Scannell trophy back west of the Viaduct.

In a high-quality game, Rangers marquee players produced the goods when it mattered most, John O’Rourke and John Hayes combining for 10 points of their winning total while Chris O’Donovan sealed an impressive campaign with an important goal.

In midfield, James Fitzpatrick nullified Sean Kiely’s threat on the same day Robbie Kiely completed an effective man-marking job on Paddy Kelly. In truth, Rosscarbery had heroes all over the pitch but their victory was down to a team effort rather than a couple of individual players’ displays.

For Ballincollig, it proved a thoroughly disappointing afternoon for a team that knocked out both of last year’s finalists, Nemo Rangers and Castlehaven, en route to the final. Not enough of the 2014 champions players performed and a more clinical Carbery Rangers took full advantage.

There won’t be a cow milked in Rosscarbery for some time.



Carbery Rangers: John Hayes 0-5 (2 frees), John O’Rourke 0-5, Chris O’Donovan 1-0, Seamus Hayes 0-2, Brian Shanahan, Jerry O’Riordan and Robbie Kiely 0-1 each

Ballincollig: Cian Dorgan 1-7 (5 frees, 1 45’), Ian Coughlan 0-2, Cian Kiely, John Miskella and Sean Lucey 0-1 each.


Carbery Rangers: Paul Shanahan; Kevin McMahon, Micheál Kelly, Thomas O’Rourke; Jerry O’Riordan, Robbie Kiely, Padraig Hodnett; Brian Shanahan, James Fitzpatrick; Alan Jennings, John O’Rourke, Brian Hodnett; Chris O’Donovan, Seamus Hayes, John Hayes.

Subs: Declan Hayes for Chris O’Donovan (44), Mick O’Donovan for Kevin McMahon (50), Cathal O’Rourke for Seamus Hayes (54), Michael Mennis for Mick O’Donovan (54), Kieran Fitzpatrick for Brian Hodnett (59), Stephen Murray for Alan Jennings (60).

Ballincollig: David Lordan; Shane Murphy, Liam Jennings, Eoin Hegarty; Sean Lucey, Noel Galvin, Cian Kiely; Sean Kiely, Ciarán O’Sullivan; Robert Noonan, Paddy Kelly, George Durrant; Cian Dorgan, Ian Coughlan, John Miskella.

Subs: Kevin Browne for George Durrant n(44), John Kelly for Ian Coughlan (50), Luke Fahy for Robert Noonan (59).

Referee: Kevin Murphy (Nemo Rangers)


Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.