TEAM NEWS: Cork make one change for ladies national football league Division 1 final

May 6th, 2016 11:44 AM

By Southern Star Team

Cork will need to keep Mayo ace Cora Staunton quiet on Saturday night. (Photo: Tom Russell)

Share this article

Check out the Cork and Mayo teams for Saturday night's league decider

THE Cork team for the Lidl Division 1 football league final against Mayo on Saturday night – in Parnell Park, at 7.15pm – shows one change from their victory over Dublin in the semi-final.

Marie Ambrose has been struggling with injury and is replaced at corner back by another emerging young talent in Eimear Meaney from Mourneabbey.

Bríd Stack is named at full back where she will renew acquaintances with Cora Staunton. Rena Buckley and Briege Corkery will start together as usual in the middle of the field with team captain Ciara O’Sullivan leading the attack from centre forward.

Mayo are unchanged from the team that enjoyed a last gasp win over Kerry in their semi-final. Sarah Tierney captains the team from full back behind the experienced Martha Carter at number six. Clodagh McManamon and Aileen Gilroy make a very mobile midfield partnership with Fiona McHale starting at centre forward in front of the exciting trio of Sarah Rowe, Niamh Kelly and the great, Cora Staunton.


Cork: Martina O’Brien; Eimear Meaney, Bríd Stack, Roisín Phelan; Vera Foley, Deirdre O’Reilly, Shauna Kelly; Rena Buckley, Briege Corkery; Orlagh Farmer, Ciara O’Sullivan (capt.), Annie Walsh; Áine O’Sullivan; Hannah Looney; Orla Finn.

Mayo:Yvonne Byrne; Orla Conlon, Sarah Tierney (capt), Doireann Hughes; Rachel Kearns, Martha Carter; Leona Ryder, Clodagh McManamon, Aileen Gilroy; Carol Hegarty, Fiona McHale, Sarah Mulvihill; Sarah Rowe, Cora Staunton, Niamh Kelly.


Share this article