Senior football clash of Carbery Rangers and Castlehaven is the pick of the bunch

June 2nd, 2019 1:00 PM

By Denis Hurley

Carbery Rangers beat Castlehaven 2-14 to 1-8 in a Cork SFC Round 4 replay in 2014.

Share this article

Check out the county championship draws

THE Cork SFC will resume in late summer with a genuine heavyweight second-round clash after Carbery Rangers and Castlehaven were paired together in Tuesday night’s draw at Páirc Uí Chaoimh.

Defeats in the first round for a number of high-profile teams meant there were a few sharks in the tank and there was always a likelihood of two meeting each other. So it proved, with the West Cork pair the last two teams left.

The Haven beat their neighbours in semi-finals in 2011 and 2012, going on to win the title that year and then retaining it in 2013. Ross did gain revenge in 2014, beating the Haven in a fourth-round replay as they made it to the final, where they lost to Ballincollig, but they would go all the way in 2016.

Last year, the sides were beaten semi-finalists, the Haven against Duhallow after a three-game saga and Ross against eventual champions St Finbarr’s. The Barrs will be lying in wait in round 3 for the winners of the Ross-Haven game.

Elsewhere, Newcestown and Valley Rovers will also meet in the second round, Valleys having triumphed when they clashed in the opening game of 2018. The winners of that match face another second-round victor, Mallow or St Nicholas, while Carrigaline clash with Bishopstown and Ballincollig are up against Clyda Rovers.

In the senior hurling, Newcestown will meet Newtownshandrum in the second round, with the winners playing Blackrock. Ballymartle play Midleton for a chance to take on champions Imokilly while Erin’s Own face Kanturk, Ballyhea meet Bride Rovers and there is an East Cork derby between Carrigtwohill and Killeagh. The winners of that latter tie will advance to meet Bandon in the third round.

SHC – second round: A) Erin’s Own v Kanturk, B) Newcestown v Newtownshandrum, C) Carrigtwohill v Killeagh, D) Ballyhea v Bride Rovers, E) Ballymartle v Midleton. Third round: Na Piarsaigh v St Finbarr’s, Charleville v Glen Rovers, A v D, Sarsfields v Douglas, E v Imokilly, B v Blackrock, C v Bandon, Bishopstown v UCC.

SFC – second round: A) Newcestown v Valley Rovers, B) Carrigaline v Bishopstown, C) Clyda Rovers v Ballincollig, D) Mallow v St Nicholas, E) Carbery Rangers v Castlehaven. Third round: Douglas v UCC, O’Donovan Rossa v Clonakilty, Duhallow v B, Dohenys v Nemo Rangers, D v A, Kiskeam v C, Fermoy v Ilen Rovers, St Finbarr’s v E.

PIHC – second round: Youghal v Carrigaline, Cloyne v Valley Rovers, Courcey Rovers v Ballincollig, Ballinhassig v Inniscarra. Third round: A) Aghada v Youghal/Carrigaline, B) Ballinhassig/Inniscarra v Mallow, C) Courcey Rovers/Ballincollig v Cloyne/Valley Rovers, D) Fr O’Neills v Fermoy. Quarter-finals: Kilworth v A, Castlelyons v B, Blarney v C, Watergrasshill v D.

PIFC – second round: Castletownbere v Nemo Rangers, Macroom v St Vincent’s, Éire Óg v Aghada, Naomh Abán v Newmarket. Third round: A) Cill na Martra v Macroom/St Vincent’s, B) Castletownbere/Nemo Rangers v Bandon, C) Naomh Abán/Newmarket v Éire Óg/Aghada. Quarter-finals: Na Piarsaigh v St Michael’s, A v Kanturk, Bantry Blues v B, Béal Áthan Ghaorthaidh v C.

IHC – second round: Barryroe v St Catherine’s, Milford v Midleton, Douglas v Ballinhassig, Kilbrittain v Dungourney, Mayfield v Kildorrery, Dripsey v Na Piarsaigh. Third round: A1) Castlemartyr v Barryroe/St Catherine’s, A2) Mayfield/Kildorrery v Éire Óg, B1) Blackrock v Grenagh, B2) Milford/Midleton v Tracton, C) Aghagullogue v Glen Rovers, D) Dripsey/Na Piarsaigh v Douglas/Ballinhassig, E) Ballygarvan v Sarsfields, F) St Finbarr’s v Argideen Rangers, G) Kilbrittain/Dungourney v Cloughduv, H) Meelin v Ballymartle. Fourth round: A) A1 v A2, B) B1 v B2. Quarter-finals: A v B, C v D, E v F, G v H.

IFC – second round: Glenville v Mitchelstown, Ballinora v Adrigole, St Finbarr’s v Grenagh, Youghal v Millstreet, Kildorrery v Ballydesmond. Third round: A) Glenville/Mitchelstown v Dromtarriffe, B) Glanmire v Kildorrery/Ballydesmond, C) Rockchapel v Glanworth, D) Youghal/Millstreet v Mayfield, E) Knocknagree v Ballinora/Adrigole, F) St Finbarr’s/Grenagh v Aghabullogue. Quarter-finals: Kinsale v Gabriel Rangers, A v B, C v D, E v F.

Share this article