Local success as OLeary rides two winners in Dunmanway

February 14th, 2015 6:04 PM

By Southern Star Team

Mark of respect: ITHRF jockeys Patrick O'Brien, Micheal Goggin Jnr, Deirdre Goggin, David Brickley, Maurice Ahern, John Helen, Jamie Hurley, Marie Moloney, Matthew O'Reilly, Jason O'Reilly and Timmy O'Leary stand at the finishing line at Kilbarry road tro

Share this article

LOCAL jockey Timmy O'Leary took the riding honours at the annual Kilbarry Road Trotting meet

LOCAL jockey Timmy O’Leary took the riding honours at the annual Kilbarry Road Trotting meet when bagging a brace of winners at the Dunmanway venue.

Both winners were for Jeremiah O’Mahony, who trains locally and who O’Leary is the retained rider for.

Meadowlands Falcon, a winner at the Skibbereen Memorial Day, followed up with another polished performance, accounting for joint favourite Myross Son in the Grade D.

This win sees the winner rise in the handicap where he will replace stable companion Glan Morgan, who later in the day gave the O’Leary/O’Mahony combination the second leg of their double.

Glan Morgan was made to work hard for his win, outduelling Talented Man in the final furlong to send this Welsh-bred gelding up to Grade B where he should adapt well to the extra half-mile trip.

Conway Tiger, with Deirdre Goggin in the plate, justified favouritism in the featured Grade A. On The Run led to the final turn but a race-winning turn by Goggin, on this son of Camp Conway, gave the connections their second top grade win of the season following a win in Ballygurteen.

It was a red letter day for first-season jockey Jamie Hurley, who rode his initial win on tarmac aboard Lakeview All Star, who is trained by his father James for Ger Hegarty.

Hurley hit the front after a furlong and never looked in any danger of defeat on this talented type.

Also, Cams Decision notched up yet another win in the Grade B and will now race in the top grade next time out.

David Brickley gave the winner a confident spin, hitting the front with three furlongs to go and won by four lengths from Lakeside Dragon who put in his best run so far this year.

Lakeview Walter was another favourite to oblige. After a below-par run in Skibbereen he bounced back to win in a great finish from Don’t Push Me, who was having his first start in this grade.

Just before the start of the Grade A race all jockeys stood across the finishing line for a minute’s silence for ‘Red’ John O’Donovan, who tragically passed away recently. Both jockeys and officials wore black arm bands to honour John, who was from Leap.

Meanwhile, the next day’s racing takes place in Old Chapel, Bandon, on Sunday, February 22nd.


Novice: 1. G Hegarty, Lakeview Allstar, J Hurley; 2. D O’Callaghan, Material Sally, J O’Reilly; 3. J O’Mahony, Lailas Boy, M Goggin Jnr; distance 8l 10l; SP 1/2 3/1 5/2; five ran.

Grade B: 1. Shanahan Brickley, Cams Decision, D Brickley; 2. M Aherne, Lakeside Dragon, owner; 3. N Forbes, Moutain Dew Lad, Deirdre Goggin; distance 4l 1/2 l SP 1/2 4/1 3/1.

Grade D: 1. J O’Mahony, Meadowlands Falcon, T O’Leary; 2. McCarthy/Twomey, Myross Son, M O’Reilly; 3. P O’Brien, Morton Direct, owner; distance 3l 1l ;SP EV 4/5 4/1; six ran.

Grade E: 1. J Manning, Lakeview Allstar, M Aherne; 2. J O’Reilly, Don’t Push Me, owner; 3. N Forbes, Toys 4 Boys, T O’Leary; distance 1/2l 4l; SP 4/5 5/2 3/1; six ran.

Grade C: 1. J O’Mahony, Glan Morgan, T O’Leary; 2. K Connolly, Talented Man, M O’Reilly; 3. J Helen, Brywins Candyman, owner; distance 1/2l 10l; SP 1/2 3/1 6/1; four ran.

Grade A (George and Monica Deane Memorial Cup): 1. Deirdre Goggin, Conway Tiger, owner; M O’Reilly, Stan The Man, Marie Moloney; 3. McCarthy/O’Sullivan, Stoneriggs Chris, M O’Reilly; distance 3l 6l; SP 1/2 6/1 3/1.

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.