Cork hurler Harnedy nominated for All Star Award

October 2nd, 2015 9:16 AM

By Kieran McCarthy

Seamus Harnedy is in the running for a GAA/GPA hurling All-Star award.

Share this article

Rebel forward included in 45-man shortlist for hurling All-Stars  

SEAMUS Harnedy is the only Cork hurler nominated for a GAA/GPA hurling All-Star.

The St Ita’s clubman was one of the bright spots for Cork in a championship campaign that saw the Rebels relinquish their Munster SHC title before bowing out to Galway in an All-Ireland quarter-final.

Harnedy previously won an All-Star in 2013, alongside Cork team-mates Anthony Nash and Patrick Horgan.

Since 2007 Cork have had just four hurlers selected on the All-Star team – Ben O’Connor (2008), Anthony Nash (2012 and 2013), Seamus Harnedy (2013) and Patrick Horgan (2013).

In this year’s nominations, All-Ireland finalists Kilkenny and Galway lead the haul with 12 each.

All of the awards winners will receive their prizes on the evening of Friday, November 6th in the National Convention Centre in Dublin. The successful hurlers will be announced live on the evening.


2015 GAA GPA Hurling All-Stars nominations sponsored by Opel


Colm Callanan (Galway), Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny), Darren Gleeson (Tipperary).


Daithí Burke (Galway), Cillian Buckley (Kilkenny), Joey Holden (Kilkenny), Paul Murphy (Kilkenny), Pádraic Walsh (Kilkenny), Johnny Coen (Galway), Iarla Tannion (Galway), Pádraig Mannion (Galway), Kieran Joyce (Kilkenny), Pádraic Maher (Tipperary), Cathal Barrett (Tipperary), James Barry (Tipperary), Noel Connors (Waterford), Tadhg de Búrca (Waterford), Shane Fives (Waterford), Austin Gleeson (Waterford), Barry Coughlan (Waterford), Philip Mahony (Waterford).


Andrew Smith (Galway), David Burke (Galway), Michael Fennelly (Kilkenny), Conor Fogarty (Kilkenny), Kevin Moran (Waterford), Jamie Barron (Waterford).


Tony Kelly (Clare), Séamus Harnedy (Cork), Mark Schutte (Dublin), Cathal Mannion (Galway), Jason Flynn (Galway), Jonathan Glynn (Galway), Joe Canning (Galway), Conor Whelan (Galway), Ger Aylward (Kilkenny), TJ Reid (Kilkenny), Eoin Larkin (Kilkenny), Richie Hogan (Kilkenny), Brendan Maher (Tipperary), John O’Dwyer (Tipperary), Séamus Callanan (Tipperary), Colin Dunford (Waterford), Maurice Shanahan (Waterford), Michael Walsh (Waterford).

Player of the Year: TJ Reid (Kilkenny), Richie Hogan (Kilkenny), Séamus Callanan (Tipperary).

Young Player of the Year: Jason Flynn (Galway), Cathal Mannion (Galway), Tadhg de Búrca (Waterford).

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.