Champs Uibh Laoire discover opponents

March 7th, 2016 5:00 PM

By Southern Star Team

Simply the best: The Uibh Laoire team that won the 2015 Muskerry U21 C football championship pictured at the club's recent victory dinner dance.

Share this article

LAST year’s beaten county junior football finalists Uibh Laoire will begin their quest to retain the Muskerry JAFC with a first-round clash against Éire Óg’s second team. 

The draws for the 2016 Mid-Cork championships were made at Monday night’s board meeting. 

As usual, the junior A football and hurling championships and the U21 hurling will feature a back door for sides defeated in the first round, while the other grades are run on a straight knockout basis.

Inniscarra, beaten by Uibh Laoire in the divisional decider last year, have been given a local derby with Blarney. 

In the junior A hurling, Inniscarra are absent following their promotion to the county intermediate championship. 

Reigning champions Cloughduv were paired with Uibh Laoire and Blarney’s second team, the beaten finalists, will face Ballincollig.

The U21 finalists of last year, Blarney and Inniscarra, will both compete in the county premier championship, opening up the divisional championship to the likes of Aghabullogue and Éire Óg.

JAFC first round: Inniscarra v Blarney, Naomh Abán v Kilmurry, Donoughmore v Kilmichael, Dripsey v Canovee, Béal Áthan Ghaorthaidh v Ballincollig, Uibh Laoire v Éire Óg, Aghinagh v Clondrohid. 

Draw for second round to be made after completion of games.

JBFC first round: A) Grenagh v Ballinora, B) Inniscarra v Macroom, C) Canovee v Cill na Martra, D) Uibh Laoire v Kilmichael, E) Kilmurry v Gleann na Laoi, F) Ballincollig v Donoughmore. Second round: Aghabullogue v F, E v D, C v B, A a bye.

JCFC first round:  A) Clondrohid v Ballincollig, B) Kilmurry v Béal Áthan Ghaorthaidh, C) Naomh Abán v Aghinagh. Second round (semi-finals): A v B, C v Dripsey.

JAHC first round: Cloughduv v Uibh Laoire, Ballincollig v Blarney, Kilmichael v Gleann na Laoi, Donoughmore v Ballinora, Éire Óg a bye. Draw for second round to be made after completion of games.

JBHC first round: A) Ballincollig v Éire Óg, B) Dripsey v Ballinora, C) Aghabullogue v Cloughduv. Second round: 1) A v B, 2) C v Donoughmore, 3) Inniscarra v Grenagh, 4) Laochra Óg v Blarney. Semi-finals: 1 v 2, 3 v 4.

U21AHC first round: A) Cloughduv v Éire Óg, B) Ballincollig v Donoughmore, C) Aghabullogue v Ballinora. Second round: Losers C v losers B, losers A a bye.

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.