Carbery Scórs Rebel Óg award

May 3rd, 2017 10:00 AM

By Southern Star Team

Time to celebrate: The Carbery Scór Commitee and All-Ireland Scór na nÓg finalists from Carbery Rangers, Clann na nGael, Sam Maguires and Tadhg MacCarthaigh celebrate at a function that honoured Carbery Scór with a Rebel Óg Award on Monday in the Clayton Silversprings Hotel, Cork. (Photo: John Tarr

Share this article

What an extraordinary year it has been for Carbery Scór. 



WHAT an extraordinary year it has been for Carbery Scór. 

To have four clubs from the division in the All-Ireland final of Scór na nÓg in the illustrious Waterfront Theatre in Belfast was phenomenal, but it also ensured that there was huge encouragement and applause from the West Cork contingent for their youthful competitors.

And so the young talent and its vibrant Scór committee were honoured on Monday last at the Rebel Óg award (April) function at the Clayton Hotel Silver Springs Hotel (main sponsor) in conjunction with Cummins Sports (award sponsors) and Red FM and the Evening Echo (media partners).

Among the four All-Ireland finalists were Sam Maguires represented by Shannon Buttimer in recitation, with her rendition of ‘Mary Ann McGee’, and the Carbery Rangers Ballad Group of Joan O’Donovan, Aoife McSweeney, Kate Creedon, Orlagh O’Gorman and Rachel Hodnett who sang ‘Through the Eyes of an Irish Man’ and ‘Níl na Lá’. Both the aforementioned thrilled and entertained Monday’s guests. 

Also in Belfast, Tadhg MacCarthaigh performed ‘A Dream of Skibbereen’ in the drama section, the same discipline that their club won an All-Ireland back in 1988. Taking part for Tadhg MacCarthaigh were Oisín Daly, Rory Kingston, Eugene Daly, Catriona Keohane, Katie Daly, Timothy Farrell, Maeve Kingston and Louise Keohane.

Clann na Gael competed in the music section with a selection of reels and jigs entitled ‘The Monaghan Jig and Johnny Cronin’s Reel’ played by Davina and Saoirse Connolly, Molly McQueen and Andrew Collins.

Scór in Carbery was set up in 1969 with the late Michael McCarthy, Danny Warren, board officers, and Bill Harte while Sonny O’Driscoll, another Scór stalwart, was also rightly lauded. 

Bill Harte still remains at the helm of Scór and was present wearing the presidential medal which he received recently from GAA President Aoghan Ó Fearghaill, with other Scór committee colleagues, Gabrielle Crowley (runaí), Michael Kerins, Geraldine Keohane, Liam Hodnett, Micheál Ó Súilleabháin and Helen Collins.

No doubt due to the encouragement and the Carbery Board with parents, mentors and coaches, this year 17 out of the 26 clubs in Carbery participated in Scór na nÓg.

Speakers at the function included Donie McCarthy, secretary Carbery Board; John Purcell, chairman, Rebel Óg; Gabrielle Crowley, Joe Kennedy, hotel manager; Cllr Declan Hurley, Dunmanway, Deputy Mayor, Cork County; Jerry Walsh, County Board, Irish officer. 

Share this article