Southern Star Ltd. logo

Carbery clubs Scór big in final

December 13th, 2016 9:00 AM

By Southern Star Team

Carbery clubs Scór big in final Image
The sound of music: The Clann na nGael instrumental music team of Andrew Collins, Maebh McQueen, and Davina and Saoirse Connolly were winners at the Scór na nÓg finals.

Share this article

There’s no stopping Carbery clubs in county finals of Scór na nÓg in Ovens


WEST Cork clubs made spectacular gains from a productive outing at the County Scór na nÓg finals hosted at the Eire Óg GAA Pavilion, Ovens.

Qualifiers from 17 clubs figured amongst the 160 strong competitors from GAA clubs countywide searching for prestigious accolades in music, song, dance and novelty act in a full and comprehensive cultural programme.

Offering a glowing example of the level of pride and passion, teenage talent put together a fantastic evening of entertainment that drew a positive response from an appreciative attendance. 

Carbery teams underlined their dominance with outright titles for Sam Maguires, Carbery Rangers, Clann na nGael and Tadgh MacCarthaigh.

From the demanding recitation, class, Shannon Buttimer from Sam Maguires collected the accolades with her offering titled ‘Mary Ann MaGee’, second here was Robert Dunne representing Kilshannig.

Carbery Rangers maintained their winning momentum on emerging top in the Ballad Group, putting together excellent harmonies of ‘Through the Eyes of an Irishman’ and ‘Níl na Lá’, good enough to better second-placed Cullen.

Clann na nGael sampled joy to win the instrumental music with a selection of jigs and reels titled ‘The Monaghan Jig’ and ‘Johnny Cronin’s Reel’, second position awarded to Dromtariffe.

And Tadgh MacCarthaigh kept West Cork flags afloat from a merited win in the production class with a production titled ‘A Dream of Skibbereen’.

Elsewhere, Boherbue made it business as usual on collecting a pair of county titles. 

The Duhallow club had got off to a superb start, emerging best in the figure dancing on performing the eight-hand reel. 

For good measure, Boherbue retained the set dancing with their interpretation of the Kilfenora Set, landing the outright honours from Killavullen.

Superb rendition

Meanwhile Maggie Moynihan from Cullen delivered a superb rendition of the emigration song ‘A Stor Mo Chroi’ to sample success in the solo singing with Miriam Cronin from Iveleary in runner-up place here.

Boherbue’s consistent efforts secured the best overall club, the Perpetual Trophy accepted jointly by Marie Casey and Margaret Kiely from Tony McAulliffe, Chairman Cork County Scór, and County Board Cultural Officer Jerry Walsh.

Munster Scór Secretary Jerry Doody compered the proceedings as Fear An Tí.

The Cork winners progress to the Munster Scór na nÓg final on a return to the Éire Óg GAA Pavilion, Ovens on Sunday, January 8th, 2017. 


Figure Dancing: 1. Boherbue (Rosie Daly, Ide Marie Herlihy, Megan Courtney, Meadhb Cremin, Lydia Sheehan, Áine O’Brien, Celine Kelleher, Margaret Casey); 2. Carrigaline (Amy Barry, Cliona Gallagher, Aoife Kirwan, Lauren Deasy, Ciara O’Flynn, Caoimhe Ryan, Alison Adriaagen, Emily Twomey).

Solo Singing: 1. Maggie Moynihan (Cullen); 2. Miriam Cronin (Iveleary).

Recitation: 1. Shannon Buttimer (Sam Maguires); 2. Robert Dunne (Kilshannig).

Ballad Group: 1. Carbery Rangers (Joan O’Donovan, Aoife McSweeney, Kate Creedon, Rachel Hodnett, Orlagh O’Gorman); 2. Cullen (Gemma Nagle, Cathal O’Sullivan, Clodagh O’Connor, Jack O’Sullivan, Maggie Moynihan).

Leiriú: 1. Tadhg MacCarthaigh (Oisín Daly, Rory Kingston, Eugene Daly, Catríona Keohane, Katie Daly, Timothy Farrell, Maeve Kingston, Louise Keohane); 2. Boherbue (Fionn O’Hanlon, Padraig Ahern, Darragh Ducey, Anthony O’Connor, Margaret Casey, Abbey Ahern, Kathyln Houlihan, Darragh Moynihan).

Instrumental Music: 1. Clann na nGael (Davina Connolly, Saoirse Connolly, Andrew Collins, Molly McQueen); 2. Dromtariffe (Anna Buckley, Marie O’Neill, Leah Murphy, Darragh Twomey, Aoife Buckley).

Set Dancing: 1. Boherbue (Megan Courtney, Rosie Daly, Sorocha Cronin, Leah O’Sullivan, B J Dunstan, Anthony O’Connor, Alan O’Connor, Tomas Sheahan); 2. Killavullen (Micheal Fresh, Andrea Fresh, Lynn O’Regan, Darren Doyle-Murphy, Sean Doyle-Murphy, Ben Hunter, Lily Sheahan, Hazel Irwin).

Share this article