Bantry RFC ladies make club history

May 1st, 2017 2:00 PM

By Southern Star Team

Powerful play: Bantry Bay RFC ladies had 45 points to spare over Dungarvan and Youghal as they blitzed their way to the Munster title.

Share this article

First Munster title for West Cork rugby team

First Munster title for West Cork rugby team


BANTRY Bay RFC ladies made history in style by winning their first-ever Munster final last Sunday when they captured the Munster ladies Division 1 Plate title in Bandon.

Dungarvan and Youghal had no answer to the brilliant Bantry team that won 57-12 on a famous day for the club.

Incidentally, this was also the 25th time the ladies lined out in the Bantry Bay RFC jersey since forming.

Christine Brien O’Sullivan got Bantry on the scoreboard with an early try that settled the women from West Cork, and further tries followed from Yvonne O’Shea, Sarah Love and Enya Breen, before Christine Brien O’Sullivan added another try. Bantry were in command at the break, leading 31-7.

In the second half Bantry Bay knew they still had it all to do as Dungarvan and Youghal came out with a renewed fire. The Bay ladies knew it was vital to get the first score which they did through the pick-and-go from the forwards, and Maureen O’Sullivan crossed the line.

Further tries from Christine Brien O’Sullivan (2) and Yvonne O’Shea guaranteed this great result.

The victorious Bantry Bay RFC team included Maureen O’Sullivan, Tara Thornton, Catherine Beavon, Katrina O’Kane, Sinead Murphy, Geraldine Hicks, Brid O’Leary, Danielle Murphy, Sarah Coakley, Enya Breen, Stacey O’Sullivan, Yvonne O’Shea, Christine Brien O’Sullivan, Jessica Eynaud, Myra O’Sullivan, Rachel O’Sullivan, Sarah Love, Eileen McCarthy, Aileen McCarthy and Rachel Crowley. The coaches are Damien Hicks and Patrick O’Connor with Ann Murphy on first aid.

Share this article

Related content