Southern Star Ltd. logo

Bantry Blues' Emma Spillane wins her first All-Star award

November 26th, 2017 4:09 PM

By Kieran McCarthy

Bantry Blues' Emma Spillane wins her first All-Star award Image
Emma Spillane of Cork with her TG4 All Star award during the TG4 Ladies Football All-Star Awards at the CityWest Hotel in Saggart, Co Dublin.

Share this article

West Cork ace rewarded for terrific debut season

BANTRY Blues’ Emma Spillane was rewarded for her fantastic season with the Cork ladies footballers after picking up the county’s only All-Star award at the Citywest Hotel on Saturday night.

Emma impressed in the Cork defence in her what was her debut season at senior level but she wasn’t fazed by the challenge and was one of Ephie Fitzgerald’s most consistent performers throughout the league and championship.

This is Emma’s first All-Star award, and hopefully the first of many.

In total, nine players were honoured on the selection for the first time, with six counties sharing the 15 awards, six to Dublin, three to Mayo, two awards each for Donegal and Kerry, and one apiece for Armagh and Cork.

2017 TG4 Ladies Football All-Star team: 1. Ciara Trant (Dublin) – 1st award

2. Emma Spillane (Cork) – 1st award

3. Sarah Tierney (Mayo) – 1st award 

4. Rachel Ruddy (Dublin) – 2nd award

5. Caroline Kelly (Kerry) – 1st award

6. Ciara Hegarty (Donegal) – 1st award

7. Leah Caffrey (Dublin) – 2nd award

8. Lorraine Scanlon (Kerry) – 1st award

9. Aileen Gilroy (Mayo) – 1st award

10. Aimee Mackin (Armagh) – 2nd award

11. Niamh Hegarty (Donegal) – 1st award

12. Nicole Owens (Dublin) – 1st award

13. Sinéad Aherne (Dublin) – 6th award

14. Cora Staunton (Mayo) – 11th award

15. Noelle Healy (Dublin) – 3rd award

Share this article