West Cork cleans up at Tidy Towns national awards

October 7th, 2019 3:02 PM

By Southern Star Team

Clonakilty, which hosts an annual carnival, has won a gold.

Share this article

There were celebrations in Clonakilty this week after they retained their gold Tidy Town's medal, finishing seven marks ahead of last year and just two behind the overall winner. 



THERE were celebrations in Clonakilty this week after they retained their gold Tidy Town’s medal, finishing seven marks ahead of last year and just two behind the overall winner. 

Ballincollig was also given a prestigious gold while silvers went to Rosscarbery, Bantry, Kinsale, Skibbereen and Carrigaline.

West Cork committees were also awarded several bronze with honours going to Bandon, Rathbarry, Kilbrittain, Lislevane, Eyeries, Ballydehob, Timoleague and Macroom.

Ahiohill got a County Endeavour award; while teen Ronan McMahon from SuperValu TidyTowns Kinsale was a runner up in the Community Hero Awards.

At the awards ceremony Ronan (13), along with other community heroes from across the country, received a commendation for their commitment to building thriving communities through their work on their local SuperValu Tidy Towns committee. The 13-year-old was congratulated on his remarkable achievement. Martin Kelleher, Managing Director, SuperValu, said: ‘Ronan is a true hero and represents the next generation of Tidy Towns volunteers.’

Bere Island was the National Award winner for 2019 in the Islands awards, with Sherkin Island also recognised. 

There was more recognition for the area in the county awards when Clonakilty and Ballincollig got awards with Rosscarbery also highly commended. 

In the County awards category, Coolagown, Ballincollig and Clonakilty took home winning titles with Castletownroche, Cobh and Rosscarbery highly commended for their efforts also.

Writing on their Facebook page, Clonakilty Tidy Towns said: What a great result for the Tidy Towns volunteers, CE scheme workers, business owners and residents of Clon.This is what can be done when all work together.Well done to all .Onwards and upwards for 2020.’

Glaslough in Monaghan was named as Ireland’s Tidiest Town for 2019, their second time taking the honours. 

On hand to present the prizes were Mr. Michael Ring, T.D., Minister for Rural and Community Development who said: ‘The work of all those involved in the Tidy Towns effort results in the attractive and welcoming towns and villages we see all over the country, and from which we all benefit.  It is this passion and pride that has made our towns and villages not only attractive and welcoming for visitors, but have created a ‘sense of place’ for those who live, work and raise families there.  That is why this competition has continued to flourish for more than 60 years.’ 


Minister Ring also announced a special allocation of €1.4 million to support the work of individual Tidy Towns Committees around the country to assist them in their continued efforts to enhance their towns and villages.

 ‘All of the towns and villages involved in the competition across the country should benefit from this investment. Wherever you have active Tidy Towns committees, it gives the town a real sense of pride and engagement, and creates a great atmosphere for both residents and visitors alike.’

The SuperValu TidyTowns competition is organised by the Department of Rural and Community Development and sponsored by SuperValu who have supported the competition since 1992.


The results were:


Category A 

Kilbrittain - 334 

Ballinadee - 315 

Carrigadrohid/Killardrish - 302 

Baile Mhuirne - 285 

Ballinhassig - 272 

Minane Bridge – 256 

Cullen -215 

Category B

Innishannon – 330 

Glounthaune - 323 

Ladysbridge - 305 

Belgooly - 298 

Grenagh - 297 

Killeagh - 286 

Ballymakeera - 285 

Mogeely - 273 

Clondrohid – 271 

Waterfall - 271 

Dripsey - 257 

Monkstown - 241 

Category C 

Cloyne - 282 

Shandon - 254 

Category D 

Kinsale - 333 

Macroom - 330 

Carrigtwohill - 299 

Category E

Youghal - 333 

Bandon - 317 

Category F 

Cobh - 338 

Category G 

Ballincollig - 344 

Carrigaline - 325 

Douglas - 305 

Togher - 290 

Category H 

Bishopstown - 224



Category A 

Rathbarry - 335 

Lislevane - 334 

Eyeries - 332 

Sherkin Island - 320 

Ardfield - 319 

Newcestown - 315 

Kilcrohane - 305 

Kealkill - 300 

Glandore - 299 

Inchigeela - 292 

Whiddy Island - 282 

Cuil Aodha - 281 

Toormore - 279 

Ballylickey - 273 

Castletownshend - 272 

Dursey Island - 267 

Goleen - 256 

Ahiohill - 216 

Category B 

Rosscarbery - 340 

Ballydehob - 333 

Timoleague - 331 

Glengarriff - 325 

Bere Island - 323 

Union Hall - 320 

Courtmacsherry – 314

Béal Átha an Ghaorthaidh -311 

Baltimore - 309 

Schull - 301 

Aherla - 284 

Ballineen/Enniskeane - 271 

Ballinspittle - 267 

Durrus - 254 

Drinagh - 247 

Category C 

Dunmanway - 317 

Castletownbere - 308 

Category D 

Clonakilty -344 

Bantry - 334 

Skibbereen - 331

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.