St Brogan's Bandon honours its pupils past and present

June 2nd, 2017 7:10 AM

By Southern Star Team

At the annual St Brogan's College awards were Fionn Harrington (Athlete of the Year), Matas Liaudanskas (Basketball), Misko Savic (Junior Footballer of the Year), Mark Wilson (Rugby), Cian Farrell (Junior Hurler of the Year) with seated Kate Corcoran (Camogie), Laoise Markey (Junior Basketball), G

Share this article

Scientist Dr Denis Twomey was the guest speaker at his former school at the annual recent awards event to honour students

Scientist Dr Denis Twomey was the guest speaker at his former school at the annual recent awards event to honour students

A RENOWNED scientist, who is a past pupil of St Brogan’s College in Bandon, was the guest speaker at the school’s recent annual award-giving ceremony.    

MC for the night, Zoe Dinneen, opened the proceedings by welcoming everybody to the event, and in particular guest speaker, Dr Denis Twomey.   

Denis, a native of Ballinspittle, but now residing in Glanmire, outlined his journey through St Brogan’s and how it had shaped his impressive career in science.

On completion of his Leaving Certificate in 1986, Dr Twomey completed a BSc in Biotechnology at Dublin City University and a PhD in microbiology at UCC. 

Following his PhD thesis, Denis worked as a post-doctoral researcher at the University of Minnesota in the USA and later at Moorepark Technology centre in Fermoy, publishing over 20 peer-reviewed publications in the field of food biotechnology and molecular biology. 

 Dr Twomey moved into the biopharmaceutical manufacturing industry in 2002, working initially for Schering Plough in Brinny outside Kinsale, (now MSD Brinny) and then Janssen Sciences Ireland UC in Ringaskiddy, where he has worked for over 11 years. 

He is currently principal scientist in the pharmaceutical development and manufacturing sciences department, supporting commercial and clinical production of a range of monoclonal antibody products, targeting a range of immune system disorders and oncology diseases.

St Brogan’s school principal Helen Cadogan also addressed the audience and explained how the school annual awards ceremony recognises endeavour, perseverance, attendance, achievement in sport, enterprise, community, academic success and all that is involved in making the whole school community a better place.   

She praised the holistic approach to education that permeates right through the entire college.   

Ms Cadogan added that all staff had attended the necessary professional development courses to enable the school’s roll-out of the new Junior Certificate programme. 

She praised the efforts of all the relevant partners – students, parents and staff – in their ongoing endeavour that has witnessed St Brogans now being viewed as a leading educational promoter in its catchment area, and beyond.

All students were congratulated by the school principal who received awards on the night, as well as Sharon McCarthy, who received the past pupil award. 

Ms Cadogan was also delighted to announce that the Friends of Bandon Community Hospital were to be the recipients of the Community Award.  

Transition Year Awards

Work Ethic: Fionn Twomey

Leadership/Initiative:  James Collins-O’Brien 

Computers: Siobhan O’Sullivan

App Team: Eibhlín Kiely, Alan O’Regan, Dylan O’Donovan, Jude Donegan, Fionn Twomey, James Collins-O’Brien, Jamie Lyne, Joe Crowley.

Transition Year Student of the Year: Jude Donegan


Academic Awards

Gaeilge: Colin Kelleher  

English: Megan Ní Shearraigh                         

Mathematics: Ruslan Volkov

French: Robyn O’Mahony

Geography: Sam Dewey

Chemistry: Alex Lehane & Shane White 

Physics: Ruslan Volkov

Biology: Nicole O’Driscoll

Construction Studies: James O’Sullivan

Engineering: Sean Connolly

Design & Communication Graphics: Sean Connolly

Business: Keelan Hawksby

LCVP Student of the Year: Rebecca Aherne

Agricultural Science: Niamh Carey

 Home Economics: Heather Burke

LCA Student of the Year: Leah Ryan &Niamh Wilmot

 Artistic Talent: Megan Ní Shear raigh                              

 Music: Amber Guilfoyle & Sapphire Guilfoyle

Principal’s Award: Daniel Desmond

Parents’ Award: Jeremiah Burke


Sports Awards

Junior Hurling Award: Cian Farrell

Junior Football Award: Misko Savic

Rugby: Mark Wilson

Basketball Male: Matas Liaudanskas

Junior Basketball (Female): Laoise Markey

Senior Basketball (Female): Grace Mooney

Footballer of the Year: Sam Dewey

Hurler of the Year: Sean Lynch

Camogie: Kate Corcoran

Athlete of the Year: Fionn Harrington

Share this article