Large attendance enjoys Cork West ploughing final in Bandon, held in good dry conditions

March 3rd, 2019 9:40 AM

By Southern Star Team

Neil O'Riordan, Denis Lehane, Norman Tanner (landowner) and Jerry O'Brien all smiles at the Cork West ploughing finals at Kilbeg, Bandon. (Photo: Denis Boyle)

Share this article

Bandon Ploughing Association held their 75th annual ploughing match on, March 24th, at Kilbeg, Bandon. 

BANDON Ploughing Association held their 75th annual ploughing match on, March 24th, at Kilbeg, Bandon. 

This was the county final of the ploughing and the last Cork West match of the season. It was held on the lands of Norman and Ann Tanner. 

The site proved an ideal location with plenty of parking available in good dry conditions and plenty of ploughing space, giving fine long banks. This offered a good challenge for the ploughmen who were competing for their places at the National Ploughing Championships next September in Carlow. 

There were 48 competitors. The judges were David Gill and Pat McDonald from Northern Ireland and Brian Mahon, John McBride, Justin Mahon and Kevin Bracken from Co Offaly. The stewards were Willie Stokes and John McCarthy. The prize giving ceremony was held at the Ash Tree, Bandon, on Sunday evening and a special presentation was made to landowners Norman and Ann Tanner. The committee and ploughmen were very appreciative of them making the site available.



Senior Tractor: 1st John Murphy, 2nd Jim Grace, 3rd Kieran Coakley. 4th Jackie O’Driscoll, 5th Denis McCarthy.

Under 28: 1st Gerard Kirby, 2nd Aidan O’Donovan.

Under 21: 1st James O’Sullivan, 2nd Ian O’Farrell, 3rd Andrew O’Donovan.

Intermediate: 1st Stanley Deane, 2nd John A O’Donovan, 3rd Denis Murphy.

Ladies: 1st Ellen Nyhan, 2nd Rachel O’Driscoll.

3 Furrow: 1st Matt Coakley, 2nd John Keohane.

Macra: 1st David Walsh, 2nd Niall O’Driscoll, 3rd Cian Harrington, 4th Denis Cooper.

Senior Reversible: 1st Liam O’Driscoll, 2nd Gerard Coakley, 3rd Michael Wycherley.

Under 28 Reversible: 1st Conor O’Farrell, 2nd Florence Wycherley.

3 Furrow Reversible: 1st Padraig Walsh, 2nd Timothy Lawlor, 3rd Gerry Creedon.

Hydraulic Vintage: 1st Denis Cummins, 2nd Michael Ryan, 3rd John O’Neill, 4th Lesley Wolfe.

Confined Hydraulic Vintage: 1st James Keohane, 2nd Pascal Coughlan, 3rd Ite Wiserma.

Single Furrow: 1st Trevor Fleming,. 2nd Gordon Jennings.

Horse Class: 1st Colman Cogan, 2nd Tim Lawlor, 3rd John O’Donovan, 4th Shane McCarthy.

Share this article