Community group wins top Beara annual award

February 16th, 2018 10:05 PM

By Southern Star Team

Members of the award-winning Castletownbere Community Development Association – Siobhan Murphy, Darren Lynch, Andrea Lotty, Cian Murphy, John Galvin, Viktorija Gec, Killian Martin Sullivan and Roz Williams. (Photo: Anne Marie Cronin)

Share this article

The Beara Person of the Year Award has been won by Castletownbere Development Association for its Trojan work in the area. 


THE Beara Person of the Year Award has been won by Castletownbere Development Association for its Trojan work in the area. 

Cian Murphy, chair of the Castletownbere Development Association, accepted the award, along with fellow committee members and said: ‘You don’t become a member of the Castletownbere Development Association for the recognition, but it is great when you are recognised, especially for all the work that goes on behind the scenes, and it’s nice to receive some gratitude for all that we do throughout the year.’

The voluntary body hosts a number of community events and festivals each year, including the Patrick’s Day Parade and Festival of the Sea.

The Association was one of four nominees up for the awards. Allihies-based artist Bill Griffin, former Castletownbere parish priest Fr Gearoid Walsh, and Cahermore native Sr Patrick Lowney, who retired from a long and dedicated nursing career following 37 years of unbroken service, were also nominated. 

Chair of the Beara Person of the Year awards committee Michael O’Sullivan congratulated Castletownbere Development Association on the  win. He said it acknowledged the valuable work the group does in Castletownbere and the wider area.  

‘The Castletownbere Development Association does some Trojan work which is all totally voluntary,’ he said. 

Money raised at the awards ceremony at the Beara Coast Hotel was donated to the Irish Community Air Ambulance.

The winners were presented with their trophy by John Kearney, CEO of the Irish Community Air Ambulance.  Also present was the organisation’s co-ordinator Ruth Bruton. 

 All those who were nominated were also presented with a miniature version of the main trophy as recognition of their work. 

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.