West Cork footballers in running for All-Stars

September 29th, 2018 12:00 PM

By Southern Star Team

Cork footballer Orla Finn, photographed, along with Martina O'Brien, Áine Terry O'Sullivan, Emma Spillane and Melissa Duggan have all been nominated for TG4 All-Star awards after impressive seasons with the Rebels.

Share this article

TWELVE Cork footballers – including five from West Cork – have been nominated for 2018 TG4 All-Stars.

There was heartbreak for the Rebels in the recent All-Ireland final against Dublin who took the spoils in front of a record crowd at Croke Park. And while the Dubs lead the way with 14 All-Star nominations, Cork’s impressive campaign has been recognised with 12 players on the 45-player list.

Bantry Blues’ Emma Spillane won an All-Star in her first season last year, and she’s nominated again, as are Clonakilty’s Martina O’Brien, Dunmanway’s Melissa Duggan, Allihies native Áine Terry O’Sullivan and Kinsale’s Orla Finn, another former All-Star. For Duggan and O’Sullivan, it is their first time nominated for an All-Star, and both will be key players for the West Cork divisional team in their county semi-final against Éire Óg in Ahiohill on Saturday evening.

Other Cork players nominated include Eimear Meaney, Róisín Phelan, Máire O’Callaghan, Ashling Hutchings, Eimear Scally and sisters Ciara and Doireann O’Sullivan.

One player will be chosen from three shortlisted in each of the 15 positions to make up the final selection.

The 2018 TG4 All-Star team will be announced at a gala banquet at the Citywest Hotel on Saturday, December 1st, along with the Junior, Intermediate and Senior Players’ Player of the Year award winners, the Provincial Young Players of the Year and the 2018 inductee into the Ladies Gaelic Football Association (LGFA) Hall of Fame. 

The 2018 TG4 All-Star nominations are as follows:

Goalkeepers: Ciara Trant (Dublin), Martina O’Brien (Cork), Noelle Gormley (Sligo).

Right Corner Back: Treasa Doherty (Donegal), Martha Byrne (Dublin), Eimear Meaney (Cork).

Full Back: Róisín Phelan (Cork), Nicole McLaughlin (Donegal), Aislinn Desmond (Kerry).

Left Corner Back: Sinéad Burke (Galway), Leah Caffrey (Dublin), Melissa Duggan (Cork).

Right Half Back: Sinéad Goldrick (Dublin), Máire O’Callaghan (Cork), Rachel Kearns (Mayo).

Centre Half Back: Ciara Hegarty (Donegal), Nicola Ward (Galway), Siobhán McGrath (Dublin).

Left Half Back: Niamh Collins (Dublin), Emma Spillane (Cork), Deirdre Foley (Donegal).

Midfield: Lauren Magee (Dublin), Neamh Woods (Tyrone), Ashling Hutchings (Cork), Olwen Carey (Dublin), Caroline O’Hanlon (Armagh), Katy Herron (Donegal).

Right Half Forward: Ciara O’Sullivan (Cork), Karen Guthrie (Donegal), Carla Rowe (Dublin).

Centre Half Forward: Tracey Leonard (Galway), Noelle Healy (Dublin), Aisling Maguire (Cavan)

Left Half Forward: Lyndsey Davey (Dublin), Eimear Scally (Cork), Aishling Moloney (Tipperary).

Right Corner Forward: Geraldine McLaughlin (Donegal), Sinéad Aherne (Dublin), Áine O’Sullivan (Cork).

Full Forward: Doireann O’Sullivan (Cork), Yvonne Bonner (Donegal), Niamh McEvoy (Dublin).

Left Corner Forward: Orla Finn (Cork), Nicole Owens (Dublin), Sarah Houlihan (Kerry).

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.