St James book their spot in county Junior A football final

November 3rd, 2019 10:01 PM

By Southern Star Team

St Michael's Thomas Murphy tries to stop St James' during James O'Driscoll the Cork JAFC semi-final at Ovens on Sunday.

Share this article

St James 1-12
St Michael’s 0-9


ST James will face Kilshannig in the 2019 Cork JAFC county final following victory over St Michael’s in Ovens on Sunday.
The Ardfield club head to Páirc Uí Rinn with nothing to lose and on the back of a commanding semi-final performance highlighted by Aaron Hayes’ superb match-clinching goal.

The Carbery champions led 0-9 to 0-4 at half time, having reeled off the last four points of the half from Alan O’Shea (two frees), Micheal (D) McCarthy and Frank Hayes to take control of this semi-final. St James had moved 0-3 to 0-0 ahead early on too with points from James O’Sullivan, Micheal (D) McCarthy and Alan O’Shea.

The third quarter was a much tighter affair. Micheal (D) McCarthy and Alan O’Shea (free) efforts sandwiched a Robbie Cotter point to make it 0-11 to 0-5 with 15 minutes remaining.

Alan Nolan, Robbie Cotter and Liam Grainger points gave St Michael’s hope before another Alan O’Shea free handed St James a five-point lead heading towards full time. St James copper-fastened their place in the county final with a free-flowing move that ended with Aaron Hayes scorching a majestic shot into the roof of the net.


St James: Alan O’Shea 0-5 (5f); Aaron Hayes 1-1; Micheal (D) McCarthy 0-3; James O’Sullivan, Joseph O’Sullivan, Frank Hayes 0-1 each.

St Michael’s: Liam Grainger 0-4; Robbie Cotter 0-2 (1f); Eoin O’Donovan, Mark O’Keeffe, Alan Nolan 0-1 each.

St James: Diarmuid O’Donovan; Micheal (B) McCarthy, Eoin Feen, David Hayes; Micheal (D) McCarthy, Kevin O’Leary, Joseph O’Sullivan (captain); Paul O’Sullivan, James O’Driscoll; Mark Evans, Aaron Hayes, Kevin O’Brien; Alan O’Shea, James O’Sullivan, Frank Hayes.

Subs: Sean O’Reilly for J O’Sullivan (26), Conor Hayes for M Evans (49), Kieran O’Donovan for K O’Brien (52), Ian Evans for F Hayes (59).

St Michael’s: Cian Hartnett; Ross Coleman, John Cashman, Thomas Murphy; Sean Holland, Shaun Lenighan, Dylan Corkery; Ian O’Keefe, Mark O’Keeffe; Mark Drommond, Fiachra Cronin, Alan Nolan (captain); Robbie Cotter, Eoin O’Donovan, Liam Grainger.

Subs: David Hurley for F Collins (40), Brian Holland for S Lenighan (40), Olan Hanley for E O’Donovan (52), Ciaran Adams for J Cashman (54, black card).

Referee: John Ryan (Macroom).

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.