Rossas first up to try and dent three-in-a-row Kilmac quest

February 22nd, 2019 1:00 PM

By Kieran McCarthy

Ballinascarthy's Ciarán O'Neill holds off St Colum's Aidan Harrington during the football league round three game at Ballinascarthy.

Share this article

Kilmacabea's quest for the three-in-a-row will begin with a first-round clash against O'Donovan Rossa.

KILMACABEA’S quest for the three-in-a-row will begin with a first-round clash against O’Donovan Rossa.

The reigning Carbery JAFC kingpins have dominated their local divisional championship these past two seasons and they’ll start the 2019 campaign as favourites to retain their crown. 

Kilmacabea and Skibb clashed in a round three game in 2017 that the former won 0-16 to 1-6 en route to claiming the club’s first Carbery JAFC crown.  

Kilmacabea’s last defeat in the Carbery JAFC came in the 2016 semi-final against Gabriel Rangers, but one of the teams that will fancy their chances of bettering the champs this season will be last season’s beaten finalists Tadhg MacCarthaigh, who have drawn Muintr Bhaire in round one.

2018 losing semi-finalists Ballinascarthy take on St Mary’s, while St James await the loser of the preliminary round game between Kilmeen and St Oliver Plunkett’s. 

With the new format to be introduced to the Carbery championships in 2021, there will be no relegation this season.

There are only four teams in the junior B football championship with Randal Óg, Newcestown, Bantry Blues and Goleen involved in a round-robin format.

Carbery JAFC (21 teams): Preliminary round – Kilmeen v St Oliver Plunkett’s (winner to Round 3, loser to Round 1). Round 1: A) Ilen Rovers v Bandon; B) Clann na nGael v Clonakilty; C) Loser of Kilmeen/St Oliver Plunkett’s v St James; D) Ballinascarthy v St Mary’s; E) Kilmacabea v O’Donovan Rossa; F) Kilbrittain v Barryroe; G) Muintr Bhaire v Tadhg MacCarthaigh; H) Dohenys v Argideen Rangers; I) Castlehaven v St Colum’s; J) Carbery Rangers v Diarmuid Ó Mathúnas. Round 2 (losers group): G v B, F v C, H v I, D v J, A v E.

Carbery JBFC (four teams, round robin, top two to qualify): Round 1Randal Óg v Newcestown; Bantry Blues v Goleen; Round 2 – Randal Óg v Bantry Blues, Newcestown v Goleen; Round 3Randal Óg v Goleen, Newcestown v Bantry Blues.

Carbery JCFC (seven teams): Quarter-finals A) Gabriel Rangers v Tadhg MacCarthaigh; B) O’Donovan Rossa v Clonakilty; C) Kilmacabea v St Colum’s; D) Kilmeen – a bye. Semi-finalsA v B, C v D.

Carbery JDFC (eight teams): Quarter-finals – A) Barryroe v Ilen Rovers; B) Carbery Rangers v Ballinascarthy; C) Muintir Bhaire v Diarmuid Ó Mathúnas; D) Castlehaven v Clann na nGael. Semi-finals – A v B, C v D.


Kilbree’s defence of their Carbery JAHC title begins with a testing preliminary round clash against Dohenys, while 2018 beaten finalists Ballinascarthy take on Newcestown in round one. 2017 winners Clonakilty have been handed a game against St Oliver Plunkett’s in the preliminary round.

RCM Tarmacadam JAHC (11 teams): Preliminary round – Bandon v St Colum’s; Dohenys v Kilbree; Clonakilty v St Oliver Plunkett’s. Round 1 A) Ballinascarthy v Newcestown; B) St James/Bandon v St Colum’s; C) St Mary’s v Diarmuid Ó Mathúnas; D) Clonakilty/St Oliver Plunkett’s v Dohenys/ Kilbree.

RCM Tarmacadam JBHC: Round 1A) O’Donovan Rossa v Gabriel Rangers; B) Randal Óg v Bantry Blues; C) Kilbrittain v Diarmuid Ó Mathunas; D) Kilbree v Barryroe. Round 2 (losers’ group): B v C, A v D.

RCM Tarmacadam JCHC (four teams): Round 1 Argideen Rangers v Kilbrittain; Clonakilty v Ballinascarthy. Round 2 Argideen Rangers v Clonakilty, Kilbrittain v Ballinascarthy. Round 3 Argideen Rangers v Ballinascarthy, Kilbrittain v Clonakilty.


From cutting edge treatments to confidence-boosting course for teens and tweens, skincare expert Sherna Malone wants us all glowing.

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.