Ross v Ballincollig the highlight in round three draw

August 20th, 2018 1:00 PM

By Denis Hurley

Carbery Rangers' Padraig Hodnett is tackled by Ballincollig's Sean Kiely during the 2016 Cork SFC final at Páirc Uí Rinn that the West Cork side won. The clubs will meet again in this year's championship.

Share this article

There is little doubting the tie of the SFC round 3 after the draws for the remainder of the competition.

THERE is little doubting the tie of the SFC round 3 after the draws for the remainder of the competition. Even before two county final meetings in three years, Carbery Rangers and Ballincollig had been developing a healthy rivalry – two clubs in search of taking the next step to the elite met in the championships 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012, before Ballincollig won their first county when they met in the 2014 decider, with Ross triumphant two years later for their maiden title.

Only one of the sides will be in this year’s quarter-finals though, having been paired together on Monday night, while either Clonakilty or Bishopstown will provide the last-eight opposition for the winners.

Castlehaven will renew rivalries with CIT, whom they beat early in last year’s championship, and if the Haven come through that then they are guaranteed a game which will be of great interest as they would be facing either Nemo Rangers or O’Donovan Rossa.

Nemo are of course the reigning champions, having also won in 2015, when they beat the Haven. The first time Nemo lost a final to West Cork opposition was 1992, when Skibb beat them for their only title to date.

Carrigaline will have a clash with neighbours Douglas, winners to face either St Finbarr’s or Mallow, while Valley Rovers have a repeat of the 2009 PIFC final against Clyda Rovers, which the Innishannon side won, with the victorious side there advancing to play either Duhallow or St Nicholas.

In the PIFC, Bantry Blues were drawn with Macroom in the third round. Castletownbere, who still have an outstanding second-round tie with Kanturk, will face Fermoy if they win that, while Bandon and Éire Óg will face each other in the quarter-finals after both received byes.

SFC round 3: A) St Finbarr’s v Mallow, B) Douglas v Carrigaline, C) Carbery Rangers v Ballincollig, D) Clonakilty v Bishopstown, E) Duhallow v St Nicholas, F) Valley Rovers v Clyda Rovers, G) Nemo Rangers v O’Donovan Rossa, H) Castlehaven v Cork IT; Quarter-finals: 1) A v B, 2) C v D, 3) E v F, 4) G v H; Semi-finals: 1 v 2, 3 v 4.

Premier IFC: 1) Nemo Rangers v Naomh Abán, 2) Fermoy v Kanturk/Castletownbere, 3) Bantry Blues v Macroom; Quarter-finals: A) Newmarket v St Michael’s, B) Bandon v Éire Óg, C) St Vincent’s v 1, D) 2 v 3; Semi-finals: A v B, C v D.

SFC relegation round 1: Aghada v Ilen Rovers; Round 2: Newcestown v Losers Aghada/Ilen Rovers, Dohenys v Kiskeam.

IFC relegation round 1: Glanmire v Carrigaline; Round 2: Rockchapel v Losers Glanmire/Carrigaline, Clonakilty v Ballinora.

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.