McElhinney can do no wrong right now

February 3rd, 2017 1:00 PM

By Southern Star Team

Glengarriff's Darragh McElhinney.

Share this article

Glengarriff teenager races to Munster schools’ victory



BANTRY athlete Darragh McElhinney can do no wrong at the moment and at the Tramore Valley Park cross-country course on Friday last he added the South Munster Schools’ intermediate title to his collection.

McElhinney had won the U17 race at the British Cross Challenge in Cardiff the previous Sunday – getting his picture in the prestigious Athletics Weekly magazine in the process – and made light of the heavy conditions around the old Cork city dump to come home with 25 seconds to spare from Tommy Connolly of CBC.

‘I took it easy for a few days after Sunday, that was a tough race with a few good lads there. I’m doing an indoor 3000m the weekend after next and then I’ll concentrate on the Munsters and All-Irelands,’ said the Coláiste Pobail Bheanntraí student.

For Stephanie Cotter of Coachford College, it was the perfect 18th birthday present as she took her first senior individual win, having finished sixth last year to Fiona Everard. However, the MICC, Dunmanway, athlete was unable to defend her title due to injury.

Shauna Dolken O’Shea, Scoil Phobail Bheara, and Caoimhe Harrington, Coláiste Pobail Bheanntraí, also had a good runs to take the silver and bronze medals.

Fearghal Curtin of Midleton CBS had over a minute to spare over Charlie O’Donovan (Coláiste Chriost Rí) in the senior boys’ race while Laura Hayes (Loreto, Fermoy) defeated the Munster title holder Tamzin Muldowney by nine seconds in the intermediate girls’ race.

The Irish Life Health Munster Schools championships take place at the same Tramore Valley Park course on Thursday, February 16th.



Boys Senior 5000m: 1. F Curtin (Midleton CBS) 18:01; 2. C O’Donovan (Coláiste Chriost Rí) 19:04; 3. D Madigan (Charleville CBS) 19:46; 4. R O’Cathasaigh (Coláiste Daibheid, Cork) 20:17; 5. A O’Donovan (Douglas CBS) 20:21; 6. B Smith (Coláiste an Spioraid Naoimh) 20:22. Team: 1. Coláiste Chriost Ri 48; 2. Coláiste Treasa, Kanturk 76; 3. Hamilton HS, Bandon 120.

Intermediate 4500m: 1. D McElhinney (Coláiste Pobail Bheanntraí) 16:50; 2. T Connolly (CBC, Cork) 17:15; 3. J O’Shea (CBC, Cork) 17:56; 4. N O’Flaitheartaigh (Hamilton HS, Bandon) 18:03; 5. C O’Reilly (Douglas CS) 18:13; 6. K Kerins (Presentation, Milltown) 18:15.

Junior 3000m: 1. P Hartnett (Coláiste an Chraoibhin, Fermoy) 11:43; 2. P Galvin (Presentation, Milltown) 11:54; 3. E Lee (Ashton School, Cork) 12:10; 4. C McNamee (St Colmans CC, Midleton) 12:17; 5. T Morrissey (Coláiste Chriost Rí) 12:24; 6. F Harrington (St Brogans,
Bandon) 12:26.

Minor 2000m: 1. D Healy (Midleton CBS) 8:26; 2. K Evans (Presentation, Milltown) 8:35; 3. D Fleming (St Brendan’s, Killarney) 8:36; 4. Z Dinan (PBC, Cork) 8:36; 5. L Palmer (Pobalscoil Inbhear Sceine, Kenmare) 8:38; 6. H Byrne (St Brendan’s, Killarneey) 8:42. Team: 1. St Brendan’s, Killarney 50; 2. Midleton CBS 69; 3. Scoil Phobail Sliabh Luachra, Rathmore 91.



Senior 2500m: 1. Stephanie Cotter (Coachford College) 10:20; 2. S Dolken O’Shea (Scoil Phobail Bheara) 11:03; 3. C Harrington (Coláiste Pobail Bheanntraí) 12:34; 4. C Ni-Fhloinn (Coláiste an Phiarsaigh, Glanmire) 12:47; 5. E Bickerdike (SMGS, Blarney) 13:01; 6. M O’Sullivan (Intermediate School Killorglin) 13:08.

Team: 1. St Marys, Midleton 45; 2. St Brigids, Killarney 63; 3. Presentation, Milltown 65.

Intermediate 3000m: 1. L Hayes (Loreto, Fermoy) 12:40; 2. T Muldowney (St Marys, Midleton) 12:49; 3. J Cotter (Coachford College) 13:17; 4. A Neff (Carrigaline CS) 13:27; 5. S O’Brien (Presentation, Milltown) 13:41; 6. R Randles (Pobalscoil Inbhear Sceine, Kenmare) 13:45. 

Team: 1. Loreto, Fermoy 26; 2. Pobalscoil Inbhear Sceine, Kenmare) 30; 3. St Marys, Midleton 44.

Junior 2000m: 1. Shannon Cotter (Coachford College) 8:56; 2. J Buckley (Coláiste na Toirbhirte, Bandon) 9:05; 3. S Morrison (Loreto, Fermoy) 9:09; 4. L O’Keeffe (St Marys, Midleton) 9:14; 5. G Egan (St Marys, Mallow) 9:21; 6. M Carr (Loreto, Fermoy) 9:28. 

Team: 1. Loreto, Fermoy 36; 2. St Marys, Midleton 48; 3. Pobalscoil Inbhear Sceine, Kenmare 59.

Minor 1500m: 1. K Redmond (Kinsale CS) 6:17; 2. K Eagar (Intermediate School, Killorglin) 6:24; 3. N Tutill (Coláiste na Toirbhirte, Bandon) 6:26; 4. A Morgan (St Marys, Midleton) 6:35; 5. E Murphy (Coláiste na Toirbhirte, Bandon) 6:45; 6. E Ni-Mhuiri (Gaelcholaiste Carraig Ui Leighin) 6:47.

 Team: 1. Kinsale CS 28; 2. Coláiste na Toirbhirte, Bandon 30; 3, S Marys, Midleton 42.

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.