Martina O’Brien named the 2020 Munster Ladies Footballer of the Year

March 26th, 2021 1:00 PM

By Kieran McCarthy

Martina O'Brien won four senior All-Irelands with Cork.

Share this article

CORK ladies football captain Martina O’Brien is the 2020 Munster Ladies Footballer of the Year.

The Ballinascarthy woman, who plays her club football with Clonakilty, enjoyed another tremendous season in 2020. She was between the posts as Cork went all the way to the All-Ireland senior final against Dublin and was subsequently named on the 2020 LGFA Senior Team of the Championship, while she also won county titles with West Cork (senior) and Clonakilty (intermediate) last year. Click here to read our special long feature on Martina O'Brien.


Her 2020 Munster GAA Award means it’s the third year in a row that the Munster Ladies Footballer of the Year Award has stayed in West Cork as Allihies ace Áine Terry O’Sullivan was named the best in the province in 2018 while Dohenys footballer Melissa Duggan picked up the award after her 2019 season.

Cork’s Shane Barrett was selected as the 2020 Munster U20 Hurler of the Year.

Tags used in this article

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.