John Paul delivers for Mathúnas

October 9th, 2017 9:00 AM

By Southern Star Team

Silverware: South West Board chairman Joe Crowley presents the trophy to Mathúnas captain John Horgan.

Share this article

Diarmuid Ó Mathúna 2-10

Barryroe 0-11



JOHN Paul O’Callaghan’s goal-den moments in either half inspired Mathúnas to glory in the Rowa/Rowex Pharma South West JDFC final at Barryroe.

O’Callaghan’s goals – both almost identical – came about as a result of marvellous deliveries by impressive corner forward Sean Coughlan in the 12th and 50th minutes and Barryroe never recovered from these two sledgehammer blows.

Their importance was readily acknowledged by Mathúnas manager Mark Hilliard, who felt also that their mix of youth and experience had served them ideally.

‘Some of these lads were on the periphery of our first team all the year and when they got their opportunity today they really excelled, such as young Jamie Lucey at wing forward and our goalkeeper Oisín O’Leary,’ Hilliard said.

‘The experience of two elder statesmen of the club, Micheál Fehily and John Paul (O’Callaghan), was vital, while those two goals by JP were top notch.

‘Our defence too was outstanding and when Barryroe put on all the pressure in the last ten minutes they stood up to the plate. It is great to get some silverware and with some young talent coming along things are looking up for the club.’

After an early point by Kieran Griffin for Barryroe, Mathúnas took over around the middle third with Dan O’Sullivan and Sean Nyhan dominating and with Fehily, captain John Horgan and Aidan Collins giving away little at the back, the Blues were under stress to create opportunities up front. 

Mathúnas had the ball in the net for a second occasion at the close of the first quarter but it was disallowed for an infringement. 

Relieved by the reprieve Barryroe switched Jason Fleming to midfield and Kevin O’Donovan to the mark, both players benefiting, and with Killian Lawton sparkling on the wing, Ronan Fleming, Timmy Carroll and Kieran Griffin defensively astute, scores by Lawton, Jason Fleming (free) and Eamonn McCarthy had them right back in the mix by the 23rd minute. 

It was to get even better as after Brendan Nyhan obliged for Mathúnas, cracking white flags by Kevin O’Donovan and Lawton to which JP replied from a free left it nicely poised at the interval, 1-5 to 0-6.

Mike O’Brien and Brendan Nyhan traded scores on resuming, as the tit-for-tat scoring pattern continued. 

When Mike O’Brien put the Blues ahead for only the second time in the 48th minute, 0-11 to 1-7, the pendulum of ascendancy seemed to be favouring the vanquished.

But it soon reverted in the opposite direction as O’Callaghan squeezed home the ball from an acute angle to given Mathúnas a lead they were never again to relinquish. 

Granted, Oisín O’Leary had to come to the Castletownkenneigh lads rescue with a super save from a close-range volley by Killian Lawton in the 53rd minute. But the day belonged to Mathúnas, with scores by Eoghan O’Callaghan, Brendan Nyhan, and JP O’Callaghan (free) bringing the curtain down on an entertaining game.  



Diarmuid Ó Mathúna: JP O’Callaghan 2-4 (4f), Brendan Nyhan 0-3, Eoghan O’Callaghan 0-2, Sean Coughlan 0-1.

Barryroe: Jason Fleming 0-3 (2f), Killian Lawton, Mike O’Brien 0-2 each, Jer Keohane, Kevin O’Donovan, Eamonn McCarthy, Kieran Griffin 0-1 each.


Diarmuid O’Mathúna: Oisín O’Leary; Stephen Neville, Aidan Collins, Shane Hurley; William Horgan, Micheál Fehily, John Horgan (captain); Dan O’Sullivan, Sean Nyhan; Eoghan O’Callaghan, Brendan Nyhan, Jamie Lucey; JP O’Callaghan, Liam Crowley, Sean Coughlan.

Subs: Alan O’Sullivan for Liam Crowley (inj, 16), Joseph Forbes for Neville (ht), Jerry Nyhan for Hurley (52), David Forbes for JP O’Callaghan (56), Micheál O’Driscoll for Eoghan O’Callaghan (57), Damien Shannon for Coughlan (57). 

Barryroe: Micheál Whelton; Ronan Fleming, Timmy Carroll, Ciarán O’Regan; Eamonn McCarthy, Kieran Griffin, Conor Tyndall; Kevin O’Driscoll, Kevin O’Donovan; Killian Lawton, Jer Keohane, Mike O’Brien; Matthew O’Regan, Jason Fleming, Denis Harrington.

Subs: David Murphy for Ronan Fleming (38), Jerry Crowley for Ciarán O’Regan (40), Damien O’Leary for Matthew O’Regan (40), Ronan Fleming for McCarthy (57). 

Referee: Stephen Murphy (Bandon).

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.