Gallant Coláiste Choilm lose All-Ireland schools U19A final

January 28th, 2016 10:00 AM

By Southern Star Team

The Coláiste Choilm Ballincollig team pictured before the All-Ireland final.

Share this article

St Aidan’s CBS of Whitehall deny Ballincollig school in All-Ireland basketball final

St Aidan’s CBS 92

Coláiste Choilm Ballincollig 71 

THE big hitters came out to play on the final day of action at the Subway All-Ireland Schools Cup finals as St Aidan’s CBS of Whitehall met Coláiste Choilm Ballincollig in the U19A boys’ decider.

It was the Dublin side who maintained their impressive form to eventually come through 92-71.  

St Aidan’s win was based on big players and a strong start. They had the athleticism to made decisions in mid-air leading to all the right options in the first quarter and the first 10 points from five different players. Ireland U18 International Tariq Guebaili put 10 points between the sides after six minutes.

Colaiste Choilm Ballincollig were outgunned on the offensive boards and were trailing 24-8 before they found their footing in the second quarter. Conor O’Sullivan’s swerving drive sparked a run including threes from himself and his brother Darragh to bring the gap back to eight points.

St Aidan’s response was an 8-0 run with Brian Ashton and Emmet Lawless barrelling into the key and no turnover going unpunished. They were 41-27 clear at half time.

Coláiste Choilm were 21 points in arrears heading into the final quarter but a run of baskets including a monster three from Dylan Corkery sent whispers of “anything can happen” around the National Basketball Arena. Matt Treacy swung the game back in St Aidan’s favour with a three off the right wing and 2/2 from the line.

Ballincollig coach Francis O’Sullivan said: ‘We were expending so much energy on defence that we just couldn’t make the shots we normally make. Credit to St. Aidan’s, they’re an explosive side.’

Colaiste Choilm Ballincolig: Brian Murphy 10, Dylan Corkery 11, Dylan Brickley 8, Emmanuel Anaba 2, Conor O’Sullivan 20. Substitutes: David McMahon, Jack Murphy 9, Jack Lynch, Alan O’Leary, Darragh O’Sullivan 10.

St Aidan’s CBS, Dublin: Stephen Canning 13, Tariq Guebali 19, Brian Ashton 25, Emmet Lawless 7, Matt Treacy 23. Substitutes: Cameron McCormack, Brian O’Connor, Ciaran McHugh 2, Nicol Drimal, Shane O’Leary, Shane Corcoran, Eric Redmond , Kian Auguste, Jordan Dowling, Aaron Dowling.

MVP: Tariq Guebali


Share this article