Drinagh's Premier class tells in the end

April 11th, 2017 1:00 PM

By Southern Star Team

Cup adventure: The Drinagh Rangers team that defeated Clonakilty Town to reach the Beamish Cup final.

Share this article

Clonakilty Town 1

Drinagh Rangers 5



DRINAGH Rangers produced a five-star performance to book their place in this season’s Beamish Cup final courtesy of a 5-1 win over Clonakilty Town in Lyre.

The Premier League side proved too strong for the Division 2 League champions whose cause wasn’t helped by eight of their players having to line out for their local GAA club hours before. 

Take nothing away from Drinagh’s victory however who survived a couple of early scares before moving up through the gears and scoring five times to deservedly make the final. 

Gavin Beamish opened the scoring after 22 minutes following good approach work from Barry O’Driscoll (H) and Rangers doubled their advantage shortly after when Keith Jagoe headed home Robert O’Regan’s free-kick.

Rangers made it 3-0 early in the second half when Jagoe netted his second header. An own goal put the result beyond doubt before Town’s Sean O’Reilly converted a penalty. There was still time for Tomás Connolly to put the seal on a 5-1 victory. ‘We knew it was going to be tough against a Clonakilty Town team that won this year’s Division 2 League title,’ admitted Drinagh co-manager Don Hurley.

‘We have had a great season though, remaining unbeaten all year and reaching the Beamish Cup final having qualified for the Parkway Cup decider
earlier this week. 

‘Getting to play in Turner’s Cross will be special for the players as we last played there in a Munster Junior Cup semi-final back in 2006. It is going to be a great occasion for our supporters and the
club’s co-managers too!’

Clonakilty Town manager John Leahy commented: ‘It’s true a lot of players were tired from playing GAA earlier in the day and our goal-scorer Sean O’Reilly didn’t arrive until half time but look, Drinagh Rangers deserved the victory.

‘We missed a couple of decent chances early on but Drinagh are a Premier Division team and we are a Division 2 team but they were a class apart today. I think it will be a great final.’

Clonakilty Town: Killian Hurley, Jeff O’Donoghue, John Sheehan, Jonathan Leahy, Reuben Henry, Eoin P Ryan, Danny Lane, Paudie Butler, John Hayes, Jerry Coughlan, Fin Butler.

Subs: Jason Kidney, Sean O’Reilly, Jack O’Mahony.

Drinagh Rangers: Liam Cahalane, Adrian O’Driscoll, Barry O’Driscoll (T), Darren Beamish, Don O’Driscoll, Gavin Beamish, Robert O’Regan, Gearoid White, Paul Hickey, Keith Jagoe, Barry O’Driscoll (H).

Subs: JJ Hurley, JJ Collins, Tomás Connolly, Rob Oldham, Shane Connolly.

Referee: Shane O’Neill. 

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.