Darragh and Caoimhe show top form at Munster cross country

February 21st, 2015 12:07 PM

By Southern Star Team

Other Sports

Share this article

Darragh McElhinney and Caoimhe Harrington, both pupils at Coliste Pobail Bheanntra, were two of the most impressive winners at the GloHealth Munster Schools' Cross-Country, which took


DARRAGH McElhinney and Caoimhe Harrington, both pupils at Coláiste Pobail Bheanntraí, were two of the most impressive winners at the GloHealth Munster Schools’ Cross-Country, which took place around the playing pitches of Cork IT.

Having won the South Munsters at the same venue two weeks before, both Bantry athletes were even more in command on this occasion as they left the higher-class opposition in their wake.

Caoimhe, unbeaten last winter in schools’ competition, won the intermediate race by 20 seconds ahead of Aisling Kelly from St Joseph’s in Spanish Point while Darragh, last year’s Munster minor winner and runner-up in the Irish Schools, had an even bigger winning margin in the junior boys’ 3,500m.

Stephanie Cotter of Coachford College, runner-up in the South Munsters’ intermediate race, took fourth place on this occasion while her sister Jennifer ran a great race to take the silver medal in the juniors, leading Coachford to third team medals.

There was further success for Coláiste Pobail Bheanntraí in the senior girls’ race as they took third spot which qualified them for the GloHealth Irish Schools.

Fearghal Curtin of Midleton CBS followed up his South Munster intermediate win with another victory although Charlie O’Donovan (Coláiste Chriost Rí) was closer to him on this occasion when finishing just seven seconds behind.

The first three teams in each grade, along with the first 15 finishers, qualified for the GloHealth Irish School Championships, which take place at Clongowes Wood College, Co Kildare, on Saturday, March 7th.


Senior Boys’ 6,000m: 1. K Mulcaire (St Flannan’s, Ennis) 20:30; 2. S Collins (St Flannan’s, Ennis) 20:46; 3. D Dunne (Nenagh CBS) 20:55; 4. B Keane (St Declan’s, Kilmacthomas) 21:03; 5. E Byrne (Douglas CS) 21:13; 6. M Collins (Boherbue CS) 21:20. Teams: 1. St Flannan’s, Ennis 29; 2. Douglas CS 72; 3. Boherbue CS 102.

Intermediate boys’ 5,000m: 1. F Curtin (Midleton CBS) 15:50; 2. C O’Donovan (Coláiste Chriost Rí) 15:57; 3. M Power (St Augustines, Dungarvan) 16:04; 4 E Beary (Crescent College Comp, Limerick) 16:10; 5 J Roche (St Flannan’s, Ennis) 16:14; 6 D Devane (St Flannan’s, Ennis) 16:26. Team: 1. St Flannan’s, Ennis 32; 2. St Augustines, Dungarvan 67; 3. Midleton CBS 84.

Junior Boys’ 3,500m: 1. D McElhinney (Coláiste Pobail Bheanntraí) 12:06; 2. A Donnelly (Abbey CC, Waterford) 12:43; 3. C Ryan (Our Ladys, Templenmore) 12:47; 4. F Crowley (Thurles CBS) 12:58; 5. C McDonagh (St Flannan’s, Ennis) 12:58; 6. C O’Riordan (Dungarvan CBS) 13:01. Team: 1. Thurles CBS 58; 2. CBC, Cork 87; 3. St Flannans, Ennis 104.

Minor boys’ 2,500m: 1. J Bagge (Ardscoil na Mara, Tramore) 8:19; 2. F Looney (St Anne’s, Killaloe) 8:29; 3. C O’Reilly (Douglas CS) 8:32; 4. M Troy (St Augustines, Dungarvan) 8:34; 5. J O’Dwyer (Thurles CBS) 8:39; 6. C Mahony (Dungarvan CBS) 8:46. Team: 1. St Augustines, Dungarvan 80; 2. Charleville CBS 86; 3. Thurles CBS 125.

Senior girls’ 2,500m:

1. R Pierce (St Angela’s, Cork) 8:33; 2. A Quiinn (Ursuline, Waterford) 8:34; 3. O Moynihan (Loreto, Clonmel) 8:51; 4. A Roche (Crescent College Comp, Limerick) 8:52; 5. C Cummins (Ursuline, Thurles) 8:59; 6. O Queally (Ardscoil na Mara, Tramore) 8:59. Team: 1. Loreto, Clonmel 23; 2. Ursuline, Thurles 32; 3 Coláiste Pobail Bheanntraí 51.

Intermediate girls’ 3,000m: 1. C Harrington (Coláiste Pobail Bheanntraí) 10:41; 2. A Kelly (St Joseph’s, Spanish Point) 11:01; 3. A Deegan (Presentation, Thurles) 11:07; 4. S Cotter (Coachford College) 11:14; 5. C Harvey (Kilkee CC) 11:30; 6. E Hanrahan (St Flannan’s, Ennis) 11:33. Team: 1 Presentation, Thurles 50; 2. St Joseph’s, Spanish Point 56; 3. Meanscoil san Nioclas, Phort Lairga 60.

Junior girls’ 2,500m: 1. C Rafter (Ursuline, Thurles) 8:52; 2. J Cotter (Coachford College) 9:11; 3. A Deering (St Mary’s, Nenagh) 9:16; 4. S Harrington (Coláiste Pobail Bheanntraí) 9:21; 5. E Cahill (Coláiste Mhuire, Ennis) 9:27; 6. T Muldowney (St Mary’s, Midleton) 9:27. Team: 1. Ursuline, Waterford 44; 2. Ursuline, Thurles 44; 3. Coachford College 60.

Minor girls’ 2,000m: 1. R Randles (Pobailscoil, Inbhear Sceine) 6:42; 2. U Bluett (St Mary’s, Charleville) 6:44; 3. C Coffey (Gaelcholaiste Mhuire AG, Corcaigh) 6:44; 4. L Holmes (Ard Scoil na Deise) 6:45; 5. A Clifford (St Brigid’s, Killarney) 6:49; 6. L Flanagan (St Joseph’s, Spanish Point) 6:51. Team: 1. Pobailscoil Inbhear Sceine 47; 2. St Brigid’s, Killarney 62; 3. Ursuline, Thurles 64.

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.