Clonakilty clinch promotion back to Division 1

February 26th, 2019 9:00 AM

By Southern Star Team

Clonakilty celebrate winning promotion back to Division 1 of the Munster Junior League.

Share this article

Clonakilty have clinched promotion back to Division 1 of the Munster Junior League.

Clonakilty 20 

Muskerry 8


CLONAKILTY have clinched promotion back to Division 1 of the Munster Junior League.

In their penultimate league game, Clon were too strong for Muskerry as they got the win that they needed to win promotion from Division 2.

It’s a welcome return to Division 1 for Clonakilty who have spent the past two seasons campaigning in Division 2 following their relegation in 2017. It swells the number of West Cork teams to three in Division 1 next season with more local derbies on the way against Bandon and Skibbereen.

Against Muskerry, it was 30 minutes before the game’s first score when Rob Howick ran over his side’s first try after some great work from Donal McSweeney and Josh Wilcox. Eoghan Deasy added a penalty soon after to swell the lead to eight points. Muskerry, playing against a strong wind, scored a try near the end of the first half, and Clon led 8-5 at the break.

Clonakilty were the better team in the second half.

Fantastic work at the breakdown from Courtney Canning, Stephen Cotter and Graham Murray helped get the ball to backs JD O’Hea, Olan Fehily and Rob Howick. 

Playing against the wind now, it was a day when a kicking wasn’t an option but sibling half backs Shane and Eoghan Deasy worked well to take the opportunities when they could.

Stephen Cotter scored Clon’s second try before Muskerry narrowed the gap to 13-8 with a penalty. When JD O’Hea added a third try, converted by Eoghan Deasy, it put Clon on the edge of promotion – and this is how it finished.

Celebrating their return to Division 1, ‘Clon Boys Are We’ rang out and it was a fantastic moment for the club and a well-deserved reward for a marvellous season. 

On Sunday the team travels back to Irish Independent Park to take Cobh Pirates in the Challenge Shield final, a competition Clonakilty won last season. Kick off is at 6pm. 

Clonakilty: Josh Wilcox, Cathal O’Regan, Stephen Cotter, Donal McSweeney, Mike O’Hea, Batt Duggan, Damien Koziak, Courtney Canning, Shane Deasy, Eoghan Deasy, Olan Fehily, Graham Murray, Mark Purcell, Rob Howick Finglas, JD O’Hea, Jack Ryan, Ruslan Dorogan, Moss Downey, Sean Beamish, Harry Dillon, Michael Peter O’Regan.


With over 25 local suppliers, the Celtic Ross are proud to promote an ethos of sustainability and quality

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.