Clon target back-to-back South West junior ‘A' titles

March 8th, 2016 9:00 AM

By Southern Star Team

The big question: Will Clonakilty's Sean McEvoy be celebrating after the 2016 South West JAHC?

Share this article


REIGNING South West JAHC kingpins Clonakilty have set themselves a big challenge this season – to retain their Carbery crown. 

Clon have drawn neighbours Ballinascarthy in round one of this year’s championship, and manager Seamus O’Brien is wary of this opening round encounter.

‘Bal are a good young side that is on the way up, and the fact that we are local rivals will add a bit of spice to the game,’ O’Brien told The Southern Star.

‘There is a healthy rivalry between the two teams and a lot of lads on both teams would have gone to school together so they know each other pretty well.

‘It’s just the game we want to start off the championship because we know we’ll have to lift ourselves when we play Bal.’

As for defending their title, O’Sullivan added: ‘That’s the big challenge for us and that has to be an incentive – to hold onto the title. I’m not sure who the last team was to defend their West Cork junior A hurling title because it hasn’t happened in a while; that shows you how strong the competition is.

‘Last year is gone, this is a new year and we have started to prepare for the season ahead.’

Meanwhile, last year’s defeated finalists, Diarmuid Ó Mathúnas will take on Newcestown in the opening round of the 2016 competition.

Beaten 2015 semi-finalists Dohenys have drawn Bandon, while St Colum’s take on O’Donovan Rossa.

Elsewhere, Kilbrittain and Kilbree will meet, as will St James and St Oliver Plunkett’s.

The six winners of the round one games will then meet in Round 2A, and the six losers of the first round matches will clash in Round 2B.

The 2016 South West JAHC has new sponsors – RCM Tarmacadam.

SW JAHC Round 1

1. Bandon v Dohenys

2. Kilbrittain v Kilbree

3. O’Donovan Rossa v St Colum’s

4. St James v St Oliver Plunkett’s

5. Ballinascarthy v Clonakilty

6. Newcestown v Diarmuid Ó Mathúnas

Round 2A: winner of 4 v winner of 2, winner of 5 v winner of 3, winner of 6 v winner of 1.

Round 2B: loser of 4 v loser of 2, loser of 5 v loser of 3, loser of 6 v loser of 1.


SW JBHC draw

Ten teams will compete in the 2016 South West junior B hurling championship. The teams were divided into two groups, with Group 1 seeded.

If a team from Group 1 wins their first round game, they advance to the next round. If they lose, they go into the ‘B’ championship losers’ round.

If a team from Group 2 wins their first round match, they advance to the next round. If they lose, they go into the ‘C’ championship.

There two groups were as follows

Group 1: Bantry Blues, Diarmuid Ó Mathúnas, Gabriel Rangers, Randal Óg and St Mary’s.

Group 2: Argideen Rangers, Ballinascarthy, Clonakilty, Kilbrittain and Barryroe.

SW JBHC Round 1

Diarmuid Ó Mathúnas v Clonakilty

Randal Óg v Argideen Rangers

Gabriel Rangers v Barryroe

Bantry Blues v Kilbrittain

St Mary’s v Ballinascarthy

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.