Clon girls and Macroom boys on top at West Cork championships

February 5th, 2019 8:00 AM

By Southern Star Team

Sixth year boys' 2,400m race winners – 1st Naoise Ó Flaitheartaigh (left), Hamilton High School, Bandon, and 2nd Kit Barrett, Schull Community College.

Share this article

Almost 300 competitors took part in the West Cork Secondary Schools Cross-Country Championships.



ALMOST 300 competitors took part in the West Cork Secondary Schools Cross-Country Championships.

While the event took place at the usual venue of the Showgrounds in Dunmanway, the setting of January is still relatively new. This was the second year that it has been held so early, so as to better line up with the South Munster and Munster Schools Cross-Country Championships in early February.  

Cold blustery rain threatened all morning but held off for the racing and the ground conditions were not too difficult. 

Sacred Heart, Clonakilty won the EBS Perpetual Shield for the best overall girls’ school and De La Salle Macroom were the recipients for the best overall boys’ school.  

Upcoming events on the West Cork calendar will be the West Cork Road Races followed by the West Cork Track and Field Championships at CIT, dates yet to be confirmed.



Boys - First Year (1,000m): 1 Seán Lawton (Scoil Pobail Bantry), 2 Callum McElhinney (Scoil Pobail Bantry), 3 Fionn Barrett (Bandon GS); Team: 1 Scoil Pobail Bantry, 2 Hamilton HS, Bandon, 3 St Brogan’s, Bandon.

Second Year (1,200m): 1 Adam Casey (Hamilton HS, Bandon), 2 Ciarán O’Sullivan(Coláiste Pobail Bantry), 3 Macdara Ó Conghaille (Colaiste Ghobnatán, Baile Bhúirne); Team: 1 Coláiste Ghobnatán, 2 De La Salle Macroom 3 Mount St Michael, Rosscarbery.

Third Year (1,500m): 1 Ruairí Harrington (St Brogan’s College, Bandon), 2 Ciarán McCarthy (Hamilton HS, Bandon), 3 Fintan Fenner (Beara CC); Team: 1 St Brogan’s College, Bandon, 2 Hamilton HS, Bandon, 3 Bandon GS.

Fourth & Fifth Year (2,000m): 1 Gavin Kenny (Hamilton HS, Bandon), 2 Ramon Gaspar (De La Salle, Macroom), 3 Seán Ó Luasa (Scoil Mhuire, Ballingeary); Team: 1 De La Salle, Macroom, 2 MICC, Dunmanway, 3 Coláiste Ghobnatán.

Sixth Year (2,400m): 1 Naoise Ó Flaitheartaigh (Hamilton HS, Bandon), 2 Kit Barrett (Schull Community College).

Best Overall: De La Salle, Macroom.


Girls - First Year (800m): 1 Grace Nyhan (Sacred Heart Clonakilty), 2 Amy Mc Carthy (Sacred Heart Clonakilty), 3 Ella Collins (Coláiste na Toirbhirte, Bandon); Team: 1 Sacred Heart Clonakilty, 2 Coláiste na Toirbhirte, Bandon, 3 St Mary’s, Macroom.

Second Year (1,000m): 1 Maeve O’Neill (MICC, Dunmanway), 2 Ellen Collins (Scoil Mhuire, Ballingeary), 3 Éabha Crowley (Sacred Heart Clonakilty); Team: 1 St Mary’s Macroom, 2 Sacred Heart Clonakilty, 3 MICC, Dunmanway.

Third Year Girls (1,200m): 1 Aoibheann Ní Lachtáin (Scoil Mhuire Ballingeary), 2 Alanna O’Donovan (Mount St Michael, Rosscarbery), 3 Aoife O’Neill (MICC, Dunmanway); Team: 1 Mount St Michael, Rosscarbery.

Fourth & Fifth Year (1,500m): 1 Amy McDonagh (Coláiste Ghobnatán), 2 Clodagh Ó Tuama (Bandon GS), 3 Caitlin Hurley (MICC, Dunmanway); Team: 1 Bandon GS.

Best Overall: Sacred Heart, Clonakilty.

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.