Cill na Martra's star continues to rise

May 12th, 2019 11:00 AM

By Southern Star Team

The Cill na Martra panel pictured after beating Béal Átha'n Ghaorthaidh in Comórtas Peile na Gaeltachta Chorcaí. (Photo: Niall Ó Cróinín)

Share this article

Late goal confirms another scalp as winners advance to Comórtas Peile na Gaeltachta


Cill na Martra 1-12     

Béal Átha’n Ghaorthaidh 0-11




2018 county intermediate football champions Cill na Martra enjoyed another significant victory last Friday evening at Páirc Ui Chuana.

They defeated neighbours, and premier intermediate side, Béal Átha’n Ghaorthaidh in the final of the Muskerry Gaeltacht section of Comórtas Peile na Gaeltachta 2019. 

As a result, the rising power in the Mid Cork division will travel to Kerry on the June weekend as Gaeltacht Mhuscraí representatives.  

It looked likely that the game would end in a draw before Cill na Martra swooped for the only goal of the game in the dying seconds to ensure their success. Béal Átha finished the game with only 13 men as they lost two players, both to a second yellow card, in a defining moment five minutes from the end of a gripping contest when the teams were level for the fifth time. 

Even without Daniel Ó Duinnín in attack Cill na Martra dominated the opening quarter at the end of which they led by 0-5 to 0-1 with points from Mike Ó Deasúna, Ciarán and Shane Ó Duinnín, Danny Ó Conaill and Fionnbarra Ó hEaluithe. 

Andy Ó Coinceannain had the lone Béal Átha reply from a 12th minute free but as the visitors settled, Amhlaoibh Ó Loinsigh kicked a point after Cill na Martra goalkeeper Antóin Ó Conaill had brilliantly denied Matt Ó Riordáin with a superb save.

Andy Ó Coinceannain pointed another free, Cian Ó Duinnín reduced the deficit to a single point and in the 25th minute Donagh Seartan brought Béal Átha level at 0-5 each with a fine score. 

Cill na Martra regained the lead when Danny Ó Conaill had his second point just before half time.

The teams were to be level four times in a very exciting second half.

 Twice Béal Átha regained parity before they took the lead at 0-8 to 0-7 for the first time when Andy Ó Coinceannain pointed a free in the 42nd minute.  

After Mike Ó Deasúna levelled from a free in the 45th minute, Danny Ó Conaill put Cill na Martra in front almost immediately. When the Béal Átha goalkeeper Gearóid Ó Muirthille then made another of several outstanding saves, Mike Ó Deasuna pointed the resultant 45 to open up a two-point lead.  

Back came the visitors and Andy Ó Coinceannain had them level again by the 53rd minute with two points from frees, the second a fine long-range effort. 

With the teams level at 0-10 each, the outcome was uncertain but within minutes everything changed. In a single incident Béal Átha lost two defenders to second yellow cards and Mike Ó Deasúna pointed the resultant free.

 He followed up with a glorious point from play to the delight of the big enthusiastic home following.  

To their credit, Béal Átha would not yield and Conchuir Ó Loinsigh’s point in added time reduced the gap to a single score. 

Beal Átha exerted sustained pressure. In the 65th minute, Cill na Martra broke quickly out of defence, Nollaig Ó Laoire’s delivery found Damien Ó hUrdail all alone in front of the Béal Átha goal and even goalkeeper Ó Muirthille could not stop the perfectly directed shot which finally decided the outcome of a super contest. 



Cill na Martra: M Ó Deasúna 0-6 (3f, 1 45), D Ó hUrdail 1-0, D Ó Conaill 0-3, C Ó Duinnín, F Ó hEaluithe, S Ó Duinnín 0-1 each.  

Béal Átha’n Ghaorthaidh: A Ó Coinceannain 0-6 (5f), D Seartan 0-2, A Ó Loinsigh, C Ó Duinnín, Crothuir Ó Loinsigh 0-1 each.

Cill na Martra: Antóin Ó Conaill; Seanachán Ó Loinsigh, Graham Ó Mocháin, Eoin Ó Loinsigh; Seánie Ó Foirréidh, Nollaig Ó Laoire, Tadhg Ó Corcora; Gearóid Ó Goillidhe, Fionnbarra Ó hEaluithe; Ciarán Ó Duinnín, Mairtín Ó Conchúir, Danny Ó Conaill; Damien Ó hUrdail, Micheál Ó Deasúna, Shane Ó Duinnín. Subs: Sean Ó Céilleachair, Colm Ó Laoire, Gearóid Ó Faoláin.

Béal Átha’n Ghaorthaidh: Gearóid Ó Muirthille; Ciarán Ó Nunáin, Leonard Ó Conchuir, Sean Ó Donnchú; Daire Ó Ceallacháin, Amhlaoibh Ó Loinsigh, Nollaig Ó Laoire; Eoin Ó Coill, Matt Ó Riordáin; Eanna Ó Duinnín, Cian Ó Duinnín, Seamus Ó Tuama; Diarmuid MacTomáis, Aindrias Ó Coinceannain, Donagh Seartan. 

Subs: Conchuir Ó Loinsigh, Liam Seartan, Colmán Ó Tuama.

Referee: John Ryan (Macroom).

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.