Brywins Starship popular winner of George Deane Memorial

June 12th, 2019 5:00 PM

By Southern Star Team

Winning connections of Brywins Starship who was victorious in the George Deane Memorial in Dunmanway.

Share this article

Brywins Starship – owned locally by Micheal Healy – was a popular winner of the George Deane Memorial Final at Dunmanway.

BRYWINS Starship – owned locally by Micheal Healy – was a popular winner of the George Deane Memorial Final at Dunmanway.

This was the first of the big summer handicaps. Three elimination heats were held with two to qualify from each. In the opening heat Western Dreamer and Armoured Bear went to battle early and remained in front into the final quarter. Here, Hurry Up Abi hit the front and led home Western dreamer by two lengths.

In the second heat Brywins Starship drew pole position and was never headed, leading home Hail Spartacus by a length.

In the final qualifier, punters waded into Meadowbranch Demon and despite carrying a 30-yard handicap the veteran ran his rivals ragged and was a two-length winner from Sunnyside Kildare.

In the final the smart money came for Brywins Starship. Hurry Up Abi led early from Sunnyside Kildare. With two furlongs to pace Brywins Starship was set alight. Meadowbranch Demon, this time on a 50-yard trail, made his move but hit traffic on the final corner and Brywins Starship was not to be denied on his home track, staying on to beat Hurry Up Abi by a length.

‘My late father and George Deane were great friends and it’s a great honour to win here today. He takes a bit of a hit in the handicap but it’s full steam ahead to The Red John Memorial in two weeks,’ winning owner Mike Healy said afterwards. The winner was driven by his nephew Richard Kingston.

Waxies Dargle, who disappointed on his previous two starts, made amends in the Grade G/G1 Pace. This son of Connor’s Dragon led from the start, won by three lengths, landed some nice bets for connections and gave Ryan Manning his first winner under rules. 

There was only one trot on the card and it was the ultra-consistent Tarnao Josselyn who sat behind Un Boss for most of the mile and his five-length winning margin could have been much more. 

There is no local action this weekend so The Red John Memorial Festival is next for followers with over €100,000 in purse money on offer in Lyre. 

Results – Race One: 1. Hurry Up Abi, J Manning Jnr; 2. Western Dreamer, K Sheehy; 3. IBA Magician, D Murphy. Race Two: 1. Brywins Starship, R Kingston; 2. Hail Spartacus, P Hill; 3. Panam Colt, L Kelleher. Race Three: 1. Meadowbranch Demon, L Kelleher; 2. Sunnyside Kildare, D Murphy; 3. King Wills Arrival, O Quill. Race Four: 1. Tarnao Josselyn, S Quill; 2. Vigo De Bassiere, K Sheehy; 3. UN Boss, D O’Mahony. Race Five: 1. Waxies Dargle, R Manning; 2. Cushenstown Rocky, P Gilligan; 3. Brywins One Off, M Goggin Jnr. Race six (final): 1. Brywins Starship, R Kingston; 2. Hurry Up Abi, J Manning Jnr; 3. Meadowbranch Demon, L Kelleher. 

Share this article

Related content