Brilliant Bantry ladies turn on the style in final

November 7th, 2017 1:00 PM

By Southern Star Team

Celebrating: The Bantry Blues team were recently crowned West Cork minor A shield champions.

Share this article

BANTRY Blues ladies were crowned West Cork minor A shield champions early last month after a commanding 1-17 to 1-5 win over Clonakilty in the decider in Rath.

This was the second time Bantry met Clon in the West Cork competition and having suffered a heavy defeat in the group stages, the ladies in blue were certainly up against it in this decider – but they turned on the style with a stunning second-half display.

It was a tight contest for much of the match with a strong breeze proving difficult to manage for both teams. 

Ciara Ryan was very prominent for Clonakilty while Bantry’s Lucy Coakley put in a great shift marking Clon forward Chelsea O’Driscoll. A great ball from wing back Liadh Barry led to Bantry’s full forward Leah Barry’s goal just before half-time, as the Blues led 1-5 to 1-2 at the break.

With the wind at their backs in the second half, Bantry dominated as they scored a further 12 points to their total. Clonakilty had their chances but Bantry goalkeeper Chloe Barry pulled off some excellent saves and Clodagh Lynch made some vital block downs. 

Rachel Murphy, Eve Murphy, Eve O’Sullivan, Kate McCarthy, Leah O’Sullivan and Sarah Bishop all found the target in the second half as Bantry won with room to spare.

Kay Coffey, vice chairperson of the West Cork Board, presented the shield to Bantry captain Lucy Coakley. 

The player of the match award went to Bantry’s Sadhbh Wiseman for an outstanding display at wing back. 


Scorers for Bantry were :Rachel Murphy 0-6 (four frees), Sarah Bishop 0-3, Leah Barry 1-0, Eve Murphy, Eve O’Sullivan, Leah O’Sullivan 0-2 each, and Kate McCarthy and Zara Barry 0-1 each.

The Bantry Blues team included: Chloe Barry, Kate Keevers, Clodagh Lynch, Liadh Barry, Lucy Coakley (captain), Bernadette O’Flynn, Sadhbh Wiseman, Rachel Murphy, Kate McCarthy, Leah O’Sullivan, Eve Murphy, Sarah Bishop, Jennifer Andrews, Leah Barry and Eve O’Sullivan. Subs were Aoife Murnane, Megan McSweeney, Zara Barry, Kayleigh Manning, Lucy Cotter, Elaine O’Flynn, Saoirse Sammon, Tara Delaney, Hannah O’Donoghue, Ellen O’Donoghue, Shauna Daly, Ella McCarthy, Liadan Bowden, Aisling Barry and Sam Delaney.

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.