Barryroe crowned county U14B Cup camogie champions

July 14th, 2021 10:18 AM

By Southern Star Team

The talented Barryroe camogie team that won the U14B Cup final against St Fanahan's.

Share this article

BRILLIANT Barryroe were crowned county U14B Cup camogie champions after a terrific 5-6 to 3-3 victory in the final against St Fanahan’s at Castle Road.

In this delayed 2020 decider, it was St Fanahan’s, playing with the wind in the first half, who had the better start and led by two points at the first water break. Barryroe’s response was impressive, as goals from Emma Collins and Lucy Kirby gave the Carbery team a three-point lead at half time. While Barryroe had more possession in the opening half, the St Fanahan’s goalkeeper pulled off a number of excellent saves.

In a roller-coaster game, St Fanahan’s started the second half in determined fashion with a key moment being Denise Fleming’s goal-line block from a 20-metre free. Barryroe’s lead was reduced to one point by the second water break, but coming down the home straight Barryroe came into their own and reeled off an unanswered 2-2 in the last quarter.

Ciardha McCarthy and Sarah Harte excelled at midfield while Ellen O’Donovan, Maeve O’Sullivan and Mia O’Driscoll kept the speedy St Fanahan’s forwards at bay and were ably supported by Jill McCarthy and Caoimhne Ní Bhuachalla.

In the forwards Emma Collins scored three goals, super sub Lucy Kirby came on to score 1-1 while Aimy Marot, Riona Collins, Olive O’Flynn and Aoibhinn McKeogh fought for every ball. Captain Mia O’Driscoll accepted the cup.

On the return to Barryroe there was a parade of cars through the parish covering Butlerstown, Lislee, Lislevane, Grange and Courtmacsherry where the locals came out in force to congratulate these local heroes. The victorious Barryroe squad included Saoirse Whelton, Denise Fleming, Ellen O’Donovan, Jill McCarthy, Meabh O’Sullivan (0-2), Caoimhne Ní Bhuachalla, Mia O’Driscoll (captain), Sarah Harte (1-0), Ciardha McCarthy (0-3), Aoibhinn McKeogh, Emma Collins (3-0), Olive O’Flynn, Aimy Marot, Riona Collins, Loren Hitz, Alannah Sexton, Lucy Kirby (1-1), Rachel Flynn, Lola O’Donnell, Orla Ryan and Ella McSweeney.


Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.