Bandon, Skibbereen and Ibane bask in West Cork U14 success

June 10th, 2019 1:00 PM

By Southern Star Team

The Bandon U14 squad that claimed the 2019 West Cork LGFA U14A title following a titanic battle with Clonakilty in Enniskeane.

Share this article

Bandon, O'Donovan Rossa and Ibane Ladies were crowned West Cork U14 LGFA champions in their respective grades following Monday's triple-header of finals.



BANDON, O’Donovan Rossa and Ibane Ladies were crowned West Cork U14 LGFA champions in their respective grades following Monday’s triple-header of finals.

Bandon overcame Clonakilty following a cracking U14A decider in Enniskeane while O’Donovan Rossa were pushed all the way by Bantry Blues before claiming the U14B trophy. Ibane Ladies put the seal on a dominant U14C campaign, edging Beara in the first of three football finals held on bank holiday Monday. 



Both Ibane and Beara contributed to an exciting West Cork C final in Drimoleague. The divisional side trailed 1-3 to 0-1 at the end of the opening half with Tara Fleming (free), Emma Collins and Aoibhinn McKeogh raising white flags for Ibane. Amanda Power replied for Beara but Holly Collins’ goal ensured the eventual winners began the second period with the benefit of a five-point advantage.

Tara Felming extended her side’s lead from another free at the start of the second half prior to Player of the Match Ellen O’Riordan adding a further two scores to put Ibane in a commanding position heading towards the final whistle. 

The outcome was decided once Tara Fleming converted a penalty but creditably, Beara fought back and netted two late goals courtesy of Amanda Power and Molly Harrington. Yet, Ibane Ladies were not to be denied and saw out the remaining minutes to claim the West Cork U14 C title on a 2-6 to 2-1 scoreline.

Beara U14: Niamh McCarthy, Caoimhe O’Sullivan, Mary Rose McCarthy, Eva O’Donovan, Caoimhe O’Shea, Ciara Murphy, Anna Maire O’Shea, Amanda Power, Anna Downing, Aisling Murphy, Niamh Mason, Sinead Murphy, Molly Harrington, Zoe O’Driscoll, Fiona Murphy, Sophie Crowley, Eimear Sheehan, Michelle Power, Caoimhe Whelan, Caoimhe O’Shea, Eve Cahill, Orla O’Sullivan, Lauren O’Sullivan, Mary O’Sullivan, Nicola Kelly, Lisa Gilsenan , Kate Donegan and Aoife O’Shea.

Ibane Ladies U14: Mary Rose Keohane, Ellen Cunnigham, Erin Hurley, Riona Collins, Clodagh Holland, Alison McCarthy, Leah Power, Tara Fleming, Ciardha McCarthy, Holly Collins, Emma Collins, Sarah Harte, Aoibhinn McKeogh, Ellen O’Riordan, Cliona O’Brien, Alice O’Leary, Alannah Sexton, Esther Scannell Dowd, Nicole Sweetnam, Keri O’Donovan, Roisin O’Callaghan, Ella Nyhan, Meabh O’Sullivan, Grace Flynn, Mia O’Driscoll and Adrina Cahalane.



Aughaville was the venue for O’Donovan Rossa and Bantry Blues’ West Cork U14B decider. The former began as favourites and justified their tag by racing into a 4-7 to 1-2 interval lead. 

Two additional goals put the seal of a deserved Rossas victory but not before their opponents staged an impressive second-half fightback. Alas, the Blues’ best efforts couldn’t prevent a 6-11 to 2-8 defeat.

Niamh O’Sullivan was on top form for O’Donovan Rossa, accounting for 4-3 of her team’s winning total. Lia Hogan proved equally influential by contributing 1-5 and Lucy McCarthy added a goal. Caye McCarthy, Aoife O’Driscoll and Millie Coakley also got their names on the scoresheet. Despite the defeat, Holly Sheehan and Cara Kelly found the net for Bantry on an afternoon Aoife Kingston (0-5), Lainey Barry and Ella Downey also played well for the Blues.

O’Donovan Rossa U14: Grace Gallagher, Ava Minehane, Amy O’Driscoll, Ellie McCarthy, Eimhin Murphy, Elaine O’Donovan, Lauren McCarthy, Ruby Byrne, Lia Hogan, Aoife O’Driscoll, Cay McCarthy, Millie Coakley, Ruby O’Donovan, Niamh O’Sullivan, Lucy McCarthy, Kate Coppinger, Eabha O’Donovan, Kayla Scully, Tara O’Regan, Lara O’Donovan, Allie Tobin, Ellen Palma, Michaela Collins, Foyin Aba, Aoife O’Neill, Emily O’Donovan, Leah Hegarty, Kate O’Donovan and Katie O’Brien.

Bantry Blues U14: Mary O’Shea, Cathy Keenan, Anna O’Brien, Katie Galvin, Cliodhna O’Shea, Sarah French, Laura Downey, Aoife Kingston, Cathy Keenan, Grace Hickey, Saskia Wycherley, Kelly Daly, Lainey Barry, Daisy O’Donoghue, Holly Sheehan, Ella Downey, Laura Keavney, Sophie Manning, Cara Kelly, Eliza Gatkowska, Ruby O’sullivan, Katir Russell, Emma Kelly, Molly O’Sullivan, Emily Breen, Roisin Goggin, Emily French, Daisy McCarthy and Ciara Barry.



The West Cork U14A final pitted two rivals, Bandon and Clonakilty, against one another in an eagerly-anticipated clash at Enniskeane. The lilywhites enjoyed the better start with Nicola Thrunwithe and Ashling O’Connor points edging their side in front. 

Clonakilty’s inability to respond was punished when Bandon moved upfield and netted two quick-fire goals to move 2-2 to 0-0 ahead. Eva O’Connell and Nicola Thrunwithe arrowed in two superb finishes and Niamh Cotter added a point to complete a dominant Bandon spell. The Brewery Town got on the scoreboard courtesy of a fine Ciara White point shortly before the interval.

Clonakilty were much improved in the second half with Sara O’Sullivan, Caoimhe McEvoy and Ciara White reducing the deficit to five before an entertaining final’s crucial score. Isobel Bergin produced two superb saves in quick succession but was powerless to stop a Niamh Cotter penalty from hitting the net to make it 3-3 to 0-4.

Finishing strongly, Clon’s Siofra Patwell cannoned a free into the roof of the net prior to two Ciara White points making it a one-score game. An exciting ending saw Bandon emerge three-point winners, 3-3 to 1-6, to capture the West Cork A title. 

Bandon U14: Shona Dewey, Ashling Crowley, Aimee McWeeney, Kate O’Connor, Aislinn O’Riordan, Naomi Condon, Maeve Kelly, Ciara Heverin, Eva O’Connell, Aoibheann Cotter, Niamh Cotter, Laura Cummins, Ashling O’Connor, Nicole Thrunwithe, Maggie France, Aoife Callanan, Meabh Kiely, Rachel O’Donovan, Aoife O’Mahony, Orla Kelleher and Anna Crowley.

Clonakilty U14: Isobel Bergin, Alice White, Katie O’Driscoll, Aoife Whelton, Caoimhe McCarthy, Maire Murphy, Niamh Kennedy, Ciara White, Sara O’Sullivan, Anna Meade, Kate Nolan, Orla Whelton, Kate Nolan, Laura Daly, Siofra Patwell, Aoife O’Flynn Meade, Danica Geaney, Aoibhe O’Driscoll, Aoife Ni Mathuna, Eabha Egan, Ella Kingston, Amy McCarthy, Ciara Allman, Alannah Harrington and Mille Condon.

Share this article