Weather favours Timoleague ploughing

February 11th, 2017 2:35 PM

By Southern Star Team

Noel Coomey from Timoleague pictured with his children, Roisín, Oisín, Sadhbh and Caelinn, at the annual Timoleague ploughing match on Sunday. (Photo: Denis Boyle)

Share this article



FAVOURED with ideal weather conditions the annual ploughing match, held at Timoleague on Sunday last, February 5th, proved extremely successful.  

Nestled in between the rain and gale-force winds of Saturday and Monday, the sun shone brightly for most of the day in Timoleague as the rain fell elsewhere. 

Held on a spacious 20-acre field kindly presented by Colin Bateman and his family, this slightly alkaline soil proved a stern test for the 43 competitors. 

The keenest competition no doubt was in the senior tractor class which had competitors from  Baltimore to Kinsale, and the standard here – as in many of the other classes – was exceptionally high, which drew favourable comment from the judging panel, Eddie Halley, John O’Brien, John Casey and John O’Brien (Jnr) from Tipperary South. 

After a slow start, the attendance filled up well in the afternoon with many children who relished the 82nd consecutive event, which upheld the high standard of organisation set by Timoleague ploughing since its inaugural event in 1936. As usual, it proved a most enjoyable day out. 

One man from the west of the county, whom we spoke, to told us of how he remembered coming here as a small boy with his father, as his father held Timoleague Ploughing Match as one of the foremost in his calendar of events for the year.



Senior: 1st Jim Grace, 116; 2nd Barry O’Sullivan, 112; 3rd John A O’Donovan, 108.

Under 28: 1st Kieran Coakley, 115; 2nd Ger Kirby, 103; 3rd David Walsh, 95.

Under 21: 1st Aidan O’Donovan, 109; 2nd Ian O’Farrell, 103; 3rd James O’Sullivan, 100.

Intermediate: 1st Geoff Wycherley, 106; 2nd Jim Nyhan,103; 3rd DJ Keohane, 103.

Senior reversible: 1st Liam O’Driscoll, 115; 2nd Ger Coakley, 112; 3rd Ml Wycherley 99.

Standard reversible: 1st Jerry Creedon, 94; 2nd Dan Hurley, 89; 3rd Tim Lawlor, 84.

Vintage hydraulic: 1st John O’Neill, 150; 2nd Maurice Sheehy 146; 3rd Michael Coomey, 145.

Vintage trailer: 1st Michael Bennett, 155; 2nd John Wolfe, 153.

Novice vintage: 1st Kevin Ryan, 145; 2nd Pascal Coughlan, 129; 3rd Ite Wiserman, 122.

Single furrow: Gordon Jennings, 146.

Macra class: Cian Harrington, 85.

‘Farmerette’: Rachel O’ Driscoll, 109.

Horse class: John O’Donovan, 183.

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.