Sun shines for Clonakilty ploughing match

January 19th, 2019 11:40 PM

By Southern Star Team

Taking part in the vintage class at the Clonakilty ploughing match were Cian and Michael Ryan from Ballinascarthy.

Share this article

CLONAKILTY Ploughing Association held their 37th ploughing competition on Sunday last, January 13th, on the lands of Tom and Liz Nyhan at Casheliskey, Clonakilty.  It was the second ploughing event of the year and, yet again, the ploughing fraternity were blessed with mild spring-like conditions and an excellent dry site, which ploughed up very well and brought many spectators out to the event.  

There were 42 competitors including one new competitor, Michael White from the Cahermore Ploughing Association.

The judges were Dan Donnelly, Billy Donnelly, Tom Donnelly and Pat Furlong all from Co Wexford. All judges were very strong in their praise of the ploughing in Cork West. The steward was Willie Stokes.



Senior Class: 1st Jim Grace, 2nd John Murphy, 3rd Kieran Coakley, 4th Jackie O’Driscoll, 5th Denis McCarthy.

Under 28: 1st Gerard Kirby, 2nd Aidan O’Donovan.

Under 21: 1st James O’Sullivan, 2nd Ian Farrell.

Imtermediate Class: 1st Stanley Deane, 2nd John A O’Donovan.

Trailer Vintage: 1st John Wolfe, 2nd David Grattan.

Open Hydraulic Vintage: 1st Denis Cummins, 2nd Michael Ryan, 3rd Michael Walshe, 4th Mike Coomey, 5th Leslie Wolfe, 5th Maurice Sheehy.

Confined Hydraulic Vintage: 1st Pascal Coughlan, 2nd Ite Wiserman.

Single Furrow: 1st Damien Aherne, 2nd Gordon Jennings.

Ladies: 1st Ellen Nyhan, 2nd Rachel O’Driscoll.

3 Furrow Conventional: 1st Matthew Coakley, 2nd John Keohane, 3rd Michael White.

Horse Class: 1st Colman Cogan.

Open Reversible: 1st Jer Coakley, 2nd Liam O’Driscoll, 3rd Michael Wycherley.

Under 28 Reversible: 1st Conor Farrell. 2nd Flor Wycherley.

Standard Reversible: 1st Padraig Walsh, 2nd Jerry Creedon, 3rd Dan Hurley, 4th Tim Lawlor.

Macra Class: 1st David Walsh, 2nd Cian Harrington, 3rd Denis Cooper.

Upcoming fixtures: Kilmeen, this Sunday, January 20th; Cahermore, Sunday, January 27th.



Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.