Successful year for Cork West ploughing teams reviewed

December 11th, 2018 2:25 PM

By Southern Star Team

Pictured at the annual West Cork novice ploughing at Mayfield, Bandon, were Donal and Daniel Tobin with Mike Wycherley from Barryroe, who was taking part in the novice class.

Share this article

THE annual general meeting of Cork West Ploughing Association was held recently at the Old Still Bar in Bandon hosted by the Bandon Club. 

A full review of the year’s activities was done. Chairman Kieran Keohane congratulated the team who went to the All-Ireland at Tullamore where there were three first prize winners, namely Rachel O’Driscoll winning Queen of the Plough, Kieran Coakley in the intermediate class and James O’Sullivan in the U21 class (senior section). 

There were six second prize winners and many other minor placings.

 He congratulated Liam O’Driscoll who won the European reversible ploughing in Russia last July. 

The election of officers then took place and the following officers were elected for the coming year: president Dan Joe O’Driscoll, chairman Kieran Keohane, secretary Michael Walsh, vice-chairman DJ Courtney, treasurer John Hurley, PRO Richard White.

The fixture list for the coming year was then decided and is as follows: Macroom, January 6th, Clonakilty January 13th, Kilmeen January 20th, Cahermore January 27th, Kilbrittain February 3rd, Timoleague February 10th, Clogagh February 17th, Bandon county final, February 24th. 


Novice match

Cork West Ploughing Association held a novice match on Saturday last, December 1st, at Gaggin, Bandon, on the lands of David Bird by kind permission. There was a good turnout of young competitors with six competing over two classes. 

The judges from Tipperary, Eddie Halley and John O’Brien. were very impressed with the standard of ploughing for a Novice match. 

Results – Conventional two-furrow: 1st Niall O’Driscoll, 2nd Ian O’Farrell, 3rd Ellen Nyhan, 4th Dan Collins, 5th Sean Walsh.

Reversible: 1st Michael Wycherley.

Congratulations to Niall O’Driscoll and Michael Wycherley who are the first members of the Cork West Ploughing team to be selected to plough at the All-Ireland in Carlow next September.

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.