Ploughing season reaches half-way stage

February 2nd, 2019 11:40 PM

By Southern Star Team

Conor O'Farrell, Rossmore, and David Sexton from Ballineen pictured at the annual ploughing match at Cahermore. (Photo: Denis Boyle)

Share this article

Cahermore Ploughing Association held their 65th annual ploughing match on Sunday last, January 27th, at Ardagh, Rosscarbery.

CAHERMORE Ploughing Association held their 65th annual ploughing match on Sunday last, January 27th, at Ardagh, Rosscarbery, on the lands of Geoffrey Wycherley. 

The high, elevated site, which was the same venue as last year, has panoramic views of Rosscarbery Bay and Galley Head in the distance. The storm and heavy rain of the previous night had no effect on the site due to its elevation and dryness. 

The committee and ploughmen were fortunate that the rain forecast for the evening held off until 5pm when all the ploughing had been completed.

The judges – Eamon Burke, Padraig Fahy, Tommy Burke and Christy Burke from Galway – were highly impressed with the standard of ploughing throughout all the classes, especially in the senior conventional class where competition for two places at the All Ireland has become intensely competitive.  

The steward on the day was Willie Stokes. 



Senior Tractor: 1st John Murphy, 2nd Kieran Coakley, 3rd Jim Grace, 4th Jackie O’Driscoll, 5th Denis McCarthy.

Intermediate Tractor: 1st John A O’Donovan, 2nd Stanley Deane.

Under 28 Tractor: 1st Aidan O’Donovan, 2nd Gerard Kirby.

Under 21 Tractor: 1st James O’Sullivan, 2nd Ian O’Farrell, 3rd Andrew O’Donovan.

Ladies’ Class: 1st Ellen Nyhan, 2nd Rachel O’Driscoll.

Macra Class: 1st David Walsh, 2nd Cian Harrington, 3rd Niall O’Driscoll, 4th Denis Cooper.

3 Furrow Conventional: 1st John Keohane, 2nd Matt Coakley, 3rd Michael White.

Senior Reversible: 1st Liam O’Driscoll, 2nd Ger Coakley, 3rd Michael Wycherley.

Under 28 Reversible: 1st Florence Wycherley, 2nd Conor O’Farrell.

Three Furrow Reversible: 

1st Padraig Walsh, 2nd Dan Hurley, 3rd Tim Lawlor, 4th Gerry Creedon.

Open Hydraulic Vintage: 

1st Michael Ryan, 2nd Denis Cummins, 3rd Michael Walsh, 4th Leslie Wolfe, 5th Mike Coomey.

Confined Hydraulic Vintage: 

1st Paschal Coughlan, 2nd Sean McCarthy, 3rd Ite Wiserman.

Trailer Vintage: 1st John Wolfe.

Horse Class: 1st Tim Lawlor.

Upcoming fixtures: Kilbrittain on Sunday next, February 3rd, and Timoleague on Sunday 10th.

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.