Macroom match opens ploughing season

January 14th, 2019 7:07 PM

By Southern Star Team

Gordon Jennings and his daughter, Rebecca, from Clonakilty, pictured at the annual Macroom ploughing match held at Carrigathou, Coachford, on Sunday. (Photos: Denis Boyle)

Share this article

Macroom Ploughing Association held their annual ploughing match on Sunday last, January 6th, at Carrigathou, Coachford on the lands of the Healy family. 

MACROOM Ploughing Association held their annual ploughing match on Sunday last, January 6th, at Carrigathou, Coachford on the lands of the Healy family. 

The field was in excellent order, lea ground with a gravelly nature underneath. The mild spring-like conditions both dry underfoot and overhead made for a very enjoyable and pleasant day for the large field of competitors – 52 in all – and the very good attendance of spectators.

The judges in the open section were Wexford men Martin Keogh, John Whelan, Michael Roche and Brian Berry, who were very impressed with the standard of ploughing and the keen competition.

 Due to the large entry, Mossie Fleming and Philip Cotter from East Cork were drafted in to judge the vintage classes. 

The prize giving ceremony was held in Coolcower House that evening where a minute’s silence was held in the memory of the late Derry Coakley who was an esteemed member of the Macroom Ploughing Associaton for many years. 

A special presentation was given to Jeremiah Delaney on his success at winning the special horse class at the All-Ireland Ploughing Championships in 2018. 

A presentation was also made to club members Kevin and Aine O’Riordan on the occasion of their recent wedding.



Senior Class: 1st Jim Grace, 2nd Kieran Coakley, 3rd John Murphy, 4th Jackie O’Driscoll, 5th Denis McCarthy.

Intermediate Class: 1st John A O’Donovan, 2nd Stanley Deane.

Under 28: 1st Aidan O’Donovan, 2nd Gerard Kirby.

Under 21: 1st James O’Sullivan, 2nd Ian Farrell, 3rd Andrew O’Donovan.

Ladies: 1st Rachel O’Driscoll, 2nd Ellen Nyhan.

2 Furrow Reversible Senior: 1st Liam O’Driscoll, 2nd Jerh Coakley, 3rd Michael Wycherley.

2 Furrow Reversible U 28: 1st Flor Wycherley.

3 Furrow Reversible: 1st Tim Lawlor, 2nd Padraig Walsh, 3rd Dan Hurley, 4th Jerry Creedon.

3 Furrow Conventional: 1st John Keohane, 2nd Matthew Coakley, 3rd Gerard Kelleher.

Open Hydraulic Vintage: 1st Dan Cummins, 2nd Michael Ryan, 3rd Michael Walsh, 4th Michael Coomey, 5th Maurice Sheehy.

Confined Hydraulic Vintage: 1st Ita Wiserema, 2nd Sean McCarthy.

Trailer Vintage: 1st John Wolfe, 2nd David Grattan, 3rd Aeneas Horan.

Single Furrow: 1st Gordon Jennings, 2nd Damien Aherne.

Horse: 1st JJ Delaney, 2nd Colman Cogan.

Macra: 1st David Walsh, 2nd Denis Cooper.

Local 3 Furrow Standard: 1st Con Buckley, 2nd Paul Creedon, 3rd Dan F O’Riordan, 4th Willie Lyons,  5th Johnny White.

Local 3 Furrow Reversible: 1st Patrick Buckley, 2nd Gerard Coakley, 3rd Alan Lynch, 4th Donnacha Buttimer, 5th Sean Buttimer.

Fixtures: Clonakilty – Sunday next, January 13th, and Kilmeen on Sunday 20th.


Get Active 2019 is free with Thursday's Southern Star and includes features on walking, swimming, boxing, gyms, cycling nutrition and much more.

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.