Fionn wins again – on home soil

October 30th, 2019 7:10 AM

By Siobhan Cronin

Anke Eckardt, who accepted the Outstanding Achievement Award on behalf of her son Fionn Ferreira, with Michelle Minihane, guest speaker and Sarah Buckley, principal, Schull Community College. (Photo: Anne Minihane)

Share this article

By Siobhán Cronin


GOOGLE Science Fair winner Fionn Ferreira, who wowed the world with his project to collect microplastics from water, scooped yet another prize last week.

The Schull Community College student was awarded an Outstanding Achievement Award for his ‘unparalleled scientific endeavours’ at his secondary school’s prize-giving day.

The award was picked up by Fionn’s mum Anke Eckardt, as Fionn was unavailable on the day.

Recently appointed Schull CC principal Sarah Buckley focused on her unique perspective as one of the newest members of the college community, on the coastal campus which includes a planetarium and sailing school.

Past pupil and Schull native Michelle Minihane, who now works in corporate finance, was guest of honour at the ceremony. The very first Bollinger Scholar in 1998, Michelle spoke of the honour she felt at being recognised for effort and how she was encouraged to maintain high standards at third level and beyond. The scholarship has been funded for 21 years by Bill and Judy Bollinger, who have a house in Schull, and have awarded an astonishing €300,000 to students from Schull Community College.

Aleesha Wiegandt was named last Friday as the 2019 recipient of the scholarship for her academic achievement and her extra and co-curricular activities.

The second substantial scholarship on offer to students of Schull CC is the Marie Hamilton Scholarship, worth €2,500 a year to the successful scholar, who was named this year as Gabrielle Hogan, now a student of medicine at UCC.

Joe Arundel McSweeney was presented with the Staff Award, while Hollie Collins and Orlaith O’Donovan were jointly awarded the Best Leaving Certificate award, having received the maximum points available.

The Best Junior Certificate Award was shared between Ella Collins and Emma Roycroft while Sportsperson of the Year was Eimear Minihane for her commitment to a range of sports teams, particularly rugby, football and basketball in the college.

Michael Collins TD presented the Schull and District Community Alert Award to Lewis O’Regan and the Ceramicx Ireland Scoilaireachtaí Gaeilge Award went to Finian Hogan and Tara Whelton.

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.