County ploughing final at Timoleague proves to be an outstanding success

May 3rd, 2018 11:50 AM

By Southern Star Team

Horses Fred and Lar (above) being guided by Rossmore's Ger McCarthy and Tim Lawlor and Timoleague's Michael O'Donovan at the Cork West county ploughing finals at Timoleague on Sunday.

Share this article


HAVING been postponed on five occasions during the months of February and March due to bad weather, the Cork West county ploughing championship final held at Timoleague on Sunday last, April 22nd, proved an outstanding success. 

Held on the lands of Colin Bateman at Barryshall, the site of a deep alkaline loam proved a stern test for the 40-plus competitors who served up an outstanding display of ploughmanship. This was favourably commented on by the panel of judges, comprising Tom Kirwan, Kill, Co Waterford; Eamonn Cottrill, Kilkenny; Danny Dwyer, Urlingford, and Brian Ireland, Danesfort.  

Amongst the large gathering were Denis Keohane, chairman of the National Ploughing Association, who spoke favourably on the standards set by the Timoleague Ploughing Association over the years, and Fr Paddy Hickey, PP, Timoleague, who complimented the day’s work during the presentation of prizes and expressed the hope that we would all be on the right side of the sod this time next year.



Senior: 1 Kieran Coakley, 2 Jim Grace, 3 Barry O’Sullivan.

Under 28: 1 Ger Kirby, 2 Aidan O’Donovan.

Under 21: 1 James O’Sullivan, 2 Ian O’Farrell.

Three-furrow: a tie between John Keohane and Matt Coakley.

Farmerette: 1 Rachel O’Driscoll, 2 Ellen Nyhan.

Intermediate: 1 Stanley Deane, 2 Jackie O’Driscoll, 3 Denis Murphy.

Reversible senior: 1 Liam O Driscoll, 2 Ger Coakley, 3 Ml Wycherkley.

Reversible standard: 1 Padraig Walshe, 2 Tim Lawlor (Jnr).

Reversible U28: 1 Florence Wycherley, 2 Conor O’Farrell.

Vintage mounted: 1 Cian Ryan, 2 John O’Neill, 3 Michael Coomey.

Vintage trailer: 1 David Grattan, 2 Ml Bennett, 3 John Wolfe.

Vintage single furrow: 1 Trevor Feming, 2 Gordon Jennings.

Vintage confined: 1 Ite Wiresma, 2 Paschal Coughlan.

Macra winner: Cian Harrington.

Horse winner: John O’Donovan.

Special horse: Tim Lawlor.

Timoleague ploughing obviously has nationwide appeal as the winner of  the vintage trailer class was David Gratton from Co Down and a display of the ‘Iron Horse’ was given  by Francis Naughton from Kilkee, Co Clare.

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.