Clon agri college students graduate

December 21st, 2018 10:06 PM

By Southern Star Team

Amanda Sullivan, Enniskeane, receives the Level 6 Specific Purpose Award in Farm Administration Distance Education Student of the Year Award from Tony Pettit (left), Teagasc head of education and guest speaker Alan Jagoe at the presentation of certificates in Clonakilty Agricultural College.

Share this article

‘What you have learned here during the past few years is something that will stand to you in future life,' stated Alan Jagoe


‘WHAT you have learned here during the past few years is something that will stand to you in future life,’ stated Alan Jagoe when he gave the keynote address at the recent graduation ceremony for students at Clonakilty Agricultural College, Darrara. 

The former president of Macra na Feirme and current vice-chairman of Agri Aware went on  to speak about the years he spent in the college and what it meant to him in his present farming career. The principal of the college, Keith Kennedy, having welcomed all present, paid a tribute  to the teaching  staff  of the college  for bringing the students up to this degree of excellence.  

He went on to say: ‘The award which you are receiving this evening, is recognition of your efforts and application in successfully completing your training. While congratulating today’s graduates and their families on the achievement of these awards, I would like to remind you that Teagasc aspires to work with you in a life journey of learning and development.  

Mr Kennedy added: ‘I encourage you to work with your local Teagasc adviser and get involved with local Teagasc programmes to help you meet the challenges  of the future.’

Student of the Year awards the various courses included: Level 5 Certificate in Agriculture, Joseph Gannon; Specific Purpose in Farm Administration, Gavin Crowley; Level 6, Specific Purpose Award in Farm Administration Distance Education, Amanda Sullivan, and Level 6 Advanced Certificate in Agriculture,Dairy Herd Management, Aedan James

Other awards presented were: Southern Milling first year placement, Michael Horgan, Gary Daunt and Colin O’Leary

Dairy Herd  Management Grassland Management Student of the Year, sponsored  by Peter and Paula Hynes, Denise Twomey

Teagasc Clonakilty Agricultural College Best Student Milker Award, Colin Crowley.

Farm Planning Award, sponsored by AIB, Donagh O’Riordan.

Also present were Karen O’Connell, vice-principal of the college; Tony Pettit, Teagasc head of education, and lecturers Patrick McCarthy and Michael White.

Share this article


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.