Cookies on The Southern Star website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the The Southern Star website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.
How does The Southern Star use cookies?
Cookies enable us to identify your device, or you when you have logged in. We use cookies that are strictly necessary to enable you to move around the site or to provide certain basic features. We use cookies to enhance the functionality of the website by storing your preferences, for example. We also use cookies to help us to improve the performance of our website to provide you with a better user experience.
We don’t sell the information collected by cookies, nor do we disclose the information to third parties, except where required by law (for example to government bodies and law enforcement agencies).
Hide Message
  • Sport

Donagh Kelly wins West Cork Rally for fourth year in a row!

Sunday, 19th March, 2017 10:00pm
Donagh Kelly wins West Cork Rally for fourth year in a row!

Donagh Kelly on his way to winning the West Cork Rally on Sunday.


FOR the fourth year in a row Donagh Kelly in a Ford Focus WRC has won the Quality Hotel West Cork Rally.  The Donegal native is the first driver to win the rally four times – all in succession.

Kelly and co-driver Conor Foley led from the start yesterday and began today’s second leg of six stages with a 30.9 second advantage over the Fiesta R5 of Monaghan’s Sam Moffett and his Bandon co-driver Karl Atkinson.

Dubliner Robert Barrable debuting a Hyundai R5 and co-driven by Monaghan’s Damien Connolly were 14.1 seconds further behind in third.

Today, in wet conditions Kelly continued to dominate and stretched his lead beyond the 40-second mark after Stage 11.

The order remained the same until Stage 13 where Kelly’s advantage went over the minute mark due to punctures to the cars of Sam Moffett and Barrable. Moffett continued in the rally but a broken brake disc brought Barrable’s retirement.

The incidents elevated the Fiesta R5’s of Josh Moffett and Alastair Fisher into second and third respectively.

Kelly went on to take the record breaking fourth win by a margin of a minute and 45.9 seconds with Josh Moffett in second 22.5 seconds ahead of Alistair Fisher. Sam Moffett had to be content with fourth.

Local Dunmanway driver David Guest in a Mitsubishi won Group N and the Modified category was won by Donegal’s Kevin Eves (Toyota Corolla), who was co-driven by Macroom’s William Lynch.

Bandon’s Vincy McSweeney/Michael Kearney were the top West Cork crew, they were fourth in the National event.

Other West Cork winners included Cal McCarthy/Eamonn Dullea (Citroen C2R2), they won Class 2 finishing just two seconds ahead of Baltimore’s Stephen Carey (Fiesta R2) and his Bandon co-driver Ella Ryan.  

Skibbereen siblings Adrian and Alison Levis (Honda Civic) won Class 11F.

Meanwhile, Keith Cronin, debuting an M-Sport Fiesta R5, had to be content with fourth place after suffering two punctures during the Border Counties Rally, the opening round of the British Rally Championship.

Stay up-to-date with the latest West Cork news with a Southern Star digital subscription on your phone, tablet or computer. Click here for more.