VIDEO: Interview with Nuala Lupton as Skibbereen Rowing Club wins 2015 West Cork Sports Club of the Year award

January 15th, 2016 12:23 PM

By Kieran McCarthy

Skibbereen Rowing Club Honorary President Richard Hosford, third from left, pictured with Kieran McCarthy, Neil Grant, Helen Wycherley, Tony Cascarino and Paudie Palmer.

Share this article

A great year for Skibbereen Rowing Club is honoured by the best West Cork sports awards

A GREAT year just got better for Skibbereen Rowing Club, as it was presented with the 2015 Celtic Ross West Cork Sports Club of the Year award at a gala awards ceremony in the Celtic Ross Hotel last Saturday night.

Honorary Club President Richard Hosford accepted the award while Club President Nuala Lupton spoke to The Southern Star afterwards.

In 2015, 17 Skibbereen Rowing Club athletes represented Ireland, brothers Gary and Paul O'Donovan qualified for the 2016 Olympics, Mark O'Donovan and Shane O'Driscoll won a B final at the world senior rowing championships while Denise Walsh also competed well on the international front.

Pick up a copy of this week’s Southern Star – in shops now – for a six-page special from the West Cork Sports Star awards, including interviews with 2015 West Cork Sports Star winner Lily de la Cour, Hall of Fame winner Bertie Smith, West Cork Sports Star David Lowney and guest speaker Tony Cascarino.

(Click on Youtube to enlarge the video)


Share this article