TIME TO VOTE: World champion Paul O'Donovan in running for RTÉ Sportsperson of the Year

December 9th, 2016 1:00 PM

By Kieran McCarthy

World champion: Lisheen's Paul O'Donovan won gold in the men's lightweight single sculls at the senior world rowing championships in Rotterdam at the end of August.

Share this article

PAUL O’Donovan has conquered the world this year – and now it’s our turn to help him receive the recognition that his feats deserve.

The talented Lisheen rower has been shortlisted for RTÉ Sport Awards Sportsperson of the Year and he is vying with UFC champion Conor McGregor, Ireland rugby star Jamie Heaslip and 11-time All-Ireland winning Cork ladies football star Bríd Stack, as 12 of the country’s top sports people are honoured for their sporting achievements these past 12 months.

Paul won gold at the European Rowing Championships in Brandenburg last May alongside his older brother Gary in the Irish men’s lightweight double sculls, and in August the Skibbereen Rowing Club heroes won silver medals at the Olympic Games in Rio – the first time Irish rowers had ever medalled at the Games.

There was even more to come because at the end of August, Paul blitzed his way to gold in the senior men’s lightweight single sculls at the world senior rowing championships in Rotterdam. It’s been an incredible year for the 22-year-old.

Cork ladies’ footballer Bríd Stack also finds herself on the 12-strong shortlist after another terrific season for the All-Ireland champions, and Bríd has now won an incredible 11 All-Ireland senior titles and she also picked up the Players’ Player of the Year award, as well as an All-Star.

The winner will be revealed live on RTÉ One on Saturday, December 17th. 

To vote for the RTÉ Sport Awards Sportsperson of the Year click here. Voting will close on Monday, December 12th at 10am.

The winner will be revealed live on RTE One on Saturday, December 17. 

The nominees for the RTÉ Sport Awards 2016 Sportsperson of the Year are - 

Seamus Callanan – The Sunday Game Hurler of the Year capped an incredible year by scoring 13 points to ensure Tipperary’s All Ireland victory.

Eoghan Clifford – Claimed a road cycling Gold and a track cycling bronze at his first Paralympic Games

Katie George Dunlevy and Eve McCrystal – Picked up Gold and Silver Paralympic Road cycling medals 

Brian Fenton – Dublin’s midfield general continued his phenomenal record of being unbeaten in a Dublin jersey

Carl Frampton – Became just the second ever Irishman to have held World Titles in two different weight classes

Denise Gaule – Denise added the Camogie Player of the Year Award to her first O’Duffy Cup in a memorable campaign. 

Jamie Heaslip – The World Rugby Player of the Year nominee was a colossus in Ireland’s victories over South Africa, New Zealand and Australia

Daryl Horgan – Dundalk’s magic man was the outstanding player in a truly outstanding team in the league and Europe

Conor McGregor – The Notorious furthered his claim as Ireland’s most renowned sportsman by moving weight to claim his second UFC title

Annalise Murphy – Annalise came back from her London 2012 heartbreak to claim an Olympic Sailing Silver Medal in Rio

Paul O’Donovan – Added a World Championship Gold to the Olympic Silver he picked up with his brother in Rio.

Bríd Stack – Bríd was named ladies footballer of the Year after picking up her 11th All Ireland medal.


Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.