Seven Cork players named in Division 1 Team of the League

May 16th, 2019 11:41 AM

By Southern Star Team

Dohenys' Melissa Duggan has been named on the Division 1 Team of the League.

Share this article

SEVEN Cork players have been named in the 2019 Lidl Ladies National Football League Division 1 Team of the League.

Cork won their 12th league title recently after beating Galway in the final.

The Rebels have goalkeeper and Lidl NFL Final day captain Martina O’Brien listed, along with defenders Hannah Looney, Melissa Duggan and Shauna Kelly.

Niamh Cotter, so instrumental in Cork’s campaign, is named at midfield, while there are slots for Eimear Scally and Orla Finn, player of the match in the final victory over Galway, in attack.

The players will receive their awards at Croke Park on Friday evening, May 31st.

The Lidl Manager of the Month for May, in association with the Irish Daily Star, will also be revealed on the night, as well as the overall Lidl Manager of the League.

Division 1 Lidl NFL Team of the League: Martina O’Brien (Cork); Martha Byrne (Dublin), Hannah Looney (Cork), Melissa Duggan (Cork); Shauna Kelly (Cork), Sinéad Burke (Galway), Charlotte Cooney (Galway); Louise Ward (Galway), Niamh Cotter (Cork); Karen Guthrie (Donegal), Niamh McEvoy (Dublin), Aishling Moloney (Tipperary); Eimear Scally (Cork), Róisín Leonard (Galway), Orla Finn (Cork).

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.