Cookies on The Southern Star website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the The Southern Star website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.
How does The Southern Star use cookies?
Cookies enable us to identify your device, or you when you have logged in. We use cookies that are strictly necessary to enable you to move around the site or to provide certain basic features. We use cookies to enhance the functionality of the website by storing your preferences, for example. We also use cookies to help us to improve the performance of our website to provide you with a better user experience.
We dont sell the information collected by cookies, nor do we disclose the information to third parties, except where required by law (for example to government bodies and law enforcement agencies).
Hide Message
  • Sport

Late Daly goal seals Colum’s win

Wednesday, 11th October, 2017 1:00pm
Late Daly goal seals Colum’s win

Celebrations: St Colum’s players and supporters after their Carbery junior C football final win.

St Colum’s 1-10 

O’Donovan Rossa 0-9 




A LATE Michael Day goal was enough to secure St Colum’s a second successive Rowa/Rowex South West junior C football championship with a four-point win against O’Donovan Rossa in Skibbereen.

The teams swapped early scores and were tied at 0-3 apiece at the end of the first quarter – Eoin O’Connell scored three times for Skibb while Tim O’Sullivan (2) and Wesley O’Connor scored for Colum’s.

The midfield battle between Rossas’ David O’Keefe and Niall McCarthy and Colum’s Adrian O’Connor and Wesley O’Connor were a feature of this contest.

After Shane McCarthy and Tim O’Sullivan nudged Colum’s two points ahead, Eoin O’Connell replied for Skibb to level the game, and after he converted a free to edge his team in front, Tim O’Sullivan converted a close-range free to tie the scores at the break, 0-6 apiece.

The second half began like the first ended, plenty of attacking threat from both sides. Tim O’Sullivan pointed for a fifth time for St Colum’s and that was immediately followed with a second score of the day for Shane McCarthy. Eoin O’Connell responded with his and Skibb’s seventh point (0-8 to 0-7). 

Full back Denis O’Regan, Ross Fitzgerald, Billy Long and Rory O’Donovan were coming into it for O’Donovan Rossa as O’Connell drew the sides level again with a free. 

After Colum’s forward Gavin Dineen edged them back in front on 42 minutes, O’Donovan Rossa were dealt a blow when Niall McCarthy was black carded on 45 minutes but that black quickly turned to red after questioning the referee over the decision. 

O’Connell then kicked his ninth of the game but the last ten minutes would see St Colum’s take control. 

Half back Seamus McHugh found himself in space around 30 yards and he put Colum’s one in front (0-10 to 0-9).

Skibb were then reduced to 13 men when Shane Crowley Snr was sent off with minutes left.

St Colum’s put the game to bed with the last play of the game with Michael Daly racing in from the left wing to bury his shot past Skibbereen goalkeeper Christy Hodnett.



St Colum’s: Tim O’Sullivan 0-5 (2f), Shane McCarthy 0-2, Michael Daly 1-0, Wesley O’Connor, Seamus McHugh, Gavin Dineen 0-1 each. 

O’Donovan Rossa: Eoin O’Connell 0-9 (5f).


St Colum’s: Paul McCarthy; Pat Daly, Aidan Harrington, Joe O’Hallaron; Seamus McGrath, Proinsias Cronin, James Murphy; Wesley O’Connor, Adrian O’Connor; Shane McCarthy, Ger O’Sullivan, Martin Coppinger; Gavin Dineen, Tim O’Sullivan, Michael O’Connell.

Subs: Martin Cronin for P Cronin, Michael O’Sullivan for J Murphy, Michael Daly for G Dineen.

O’Donovan Rossa: Christy Hodnett; Ross Fitzgerald, Denis O’Regan, Martin Bohane; Gary O’Donovan, Kevin Cotter, Michael Coakley; David O’Keefe, Niall McCarthy Snr; Billy Long, Shane Crowley Snr, Stephen Cotter; Don Hayes, Eoin O’Connell, Rory O’Donovan.

Subs: Podge O’Neill for D O’Keefe, Noel Collins for D Hayes, Colin Newman for S Cotter.

Referee: Frank Quill (Bantry Blues).

Stay up-to-date with the latest West Cork news with a Southern Star digital subscription on your phone, tablet or computer. Click here for more.