Southern Star Ltd. logo

Ross to take on Ilen, Clon to meet Newcestown in SFC

January 23rd, 2019 1:00 PM

By Kieran McCarthy

Ross to take on Ilen, Clon to meet Newcestown in SFC Image
Newcestown's Colm Dineen breaks past Bandon's Jason Hickey during the Cork SHC round three game at Clonakilty last September.

Share this article

There are two West Cork derbies in round one of this year's county senior football championship.

THERE are two West Cork derbies in round one of this year’s county senior football championship.

2018 semi-finalists Carbery Rangers have been paired against Ilen Rovers while there will also be a clash between Newcestown and Clonakilty to whet the appetite locally.

New Castlehaven manager Mike O’Brien has seen his team draw newly promoted Fermoy while Dohenys and St Nicks will meet. O’Donovan Rossa have drawn Carrigaline in the preliminary round and the winner here will meet Ballincollig in round one.

Tim Buckley’s Carbery senior footballers will take on CIT in the Divisions/Colleges’ section, a tough draw, but the divisional team has been busy preparing since late last year.

In the county senior hurling championship, fans in West Cork will be treated to another derby with Newcestown and Bandon to play one another in the first round. The two clubs met in Clonakilty last September where Newcestown won in the first all-Carbery senior hurling championship tie in four decades. 

SFC preliminary round: Carrigaline v O’Donovan Rossa. Round 1: Mallow v Kiskeam, Castlehaven v Fermoy, Valley Rovers v Nemo Rangers, Bishopstown v Douglas, Newcestown v Clonakilty, Carbery Rangers v Ilen Rovers, Dohenys v St Nicholas, Carrigaline/O’Donovan Rossa v Ballincollig, St Finbarr’s v Clyda Rovers. SFC (Divisions/Colleges) preliminary round: Avondhu v Muskerry

Round 1: Seandun v Beara, UCC v Avondhu/Muskerry, CIT v Carbery, Imokilly v Duhallow.

Cork SHC preliminary round: Erin’s Own v Ballymartle. Round 1: Carrigtwohill v St Finbarr’s, Killeagh v Na Piarsaigh, Newcestown v Bandon, Blackrock v Ballyhea, Glen Rovers v Midleton, Bishopstown v Newtownshandrum, Douglas v Bride Rovers, Sarsfields v Kanturk, Charleville v Erin’s Own/Ballymartle. SHC (Divisions/Colleges) quarter-finals: UCC v CIT, Duhallow v Muskerry, Carrigdhoun v Imokilly, Carbery v Avondhu.

Premier IFC preliminary round: Bantry Blues v Nemo Rangers. Round 1: Naomh Abán v Béal Áthan Ghaorthaidh, St Michael’s v Macroom, Cill na Martra v Éire Óg, Bantry/Nemo v St Vincent’s, Castletownbere v Kanturk, Bandon v Newmarket, Aghada v Na Piarsaigh.

Premier IHC round 1: Fermoy v Courcey Rovers, Cloyne v Aghada, Blarney v Ballinhassig, Mallow v Carrigaline, Castlelyons v Youghal, Kilworth v Valleys, Inniscarra v Watergrasshill, Fr O’Neills v Ballincollig.

IFC preliminary round: Kildorrery v Knocknagree. Round 1: Gabriel Rangers v Adrigole, Dromtarriffe v Millstreet, Kinsale v Ballydesmond, Kildorrery/Knocknagree v Youghal, Aghabullogue v Mitchelstown, Grenagh v Glanmire, Rockchapel v Ballinora, Mayfield v Glenville, Glanworth v St Finbarr’s.

IHC round 1: Argideen Rangers v Castlemartyr, Tracton v Kildorrery, Grenagh v Na Piarsaigh, Milford v Ballymartle, Dripsey v Ballygarvan, Aghabullogue v Ballinhassig, St Catherine’s v Cloughduv, Meelin v Midleton, Éire Óg v Dungourney, Mayfield v Sarsfields, Barryroe v Glen Rovers, Blackrock v Kilbrittain, St Finbarr’s v Douglas.

Share this article