O'Shea races to win in Skibbereen 10km

August 28th, 2016 3:00 PM

By Southern Star Team

Having fun: Marie Crowley, Dunmanway, with Fiona, Denise and Aisling Everard from Enniskeane at the annual Skibbereen Athletic Club 10k road race. (Photo: Anne Minihane)

Share this article



ALAN O’Shea continued on his winning way and also showed his support for the local races when coming home first at the Noreen McCarthy Memorial Skibbereen 10km in a time of 32:53 in wet and windy conditions.

The Bantry man – who had also finished first the previous week at the Route2Crook five-miler – had over a minute in hand ahead of John Collins of the promoting club, who recorded 34:08.

For Collins, this was a personal best over the 10km distance and came a week after he had notched up a double over 800m (2:00.5) and 1500m (4:17.2) at the Cork Senior Track and Field Championships at CIT, the culmination of what has been a very successful track season.

Padraig Sheehan of Clonakilty Road Runners took third spot at Skibbereen in 36:49 with Patrick McCarthy from Drimoleague fourth in 37:39.

Rosaleen MacKeown of Leevale, sister of Olympian Lizzie Lee, took the McSweeney Family Perpetual Cup when winning the women’s race in a time of 40:15. Second was Ronnie Barry (Bandon) in 42:00 with third prize going to local Aoife Coughlan in 42:49.

Amongst the category winners, one performance that stood out was that of Denis Kelleher from the Leevale club who won the M50 age-group in 42:39, just 24 hours after completing the 26.2 miles of the inaugural East Cork Harbour Marathon at Whitegate.



1. A O’Shea (Bantry) 32:53; 2. J Collins (Skibbereen) 34:08; 3. P Sheehan (Clonaklilty RR) 36:49; 4. P McCarthy (unatt, M45) 37:39; 5. M Hannery (unatt, M45) 38:30; 6. W Rossiter (SBR, M40) 39:07.

M40: 2. M McCarthy (unatt) 41:12; 3. W Limrick (Rosscarbery SR) 44:22.

M45: 3. R O’Sullivan (unatt) 39:32.

M50: 1. D Kelleher (Leevale) 42:39; 2. J McCarthy (Skibbereen) 46:49; 3. D O’Sullivan (unatt) 47:01.

M55: 1. D Massey (West Limerick) 50:22; 2. P Cowap (unatt) 55:21; 3. M Forde (unatt) 56:15.

M60: 1. P Hurley (unatt) 49:37; 2. N O’Leary (Belgooly) 51:43; 3. D Condon (West Limerick) 52:48.

Women: 1. R MacKeown (Leevale, F40) 40:15; 2. R Barry (Bandon, F40) 42:00; 3. A Coughlan (unatt) 42:49; 4. O Hayes (unatt) 43:44; 5. A Kingston (unatt) 47:49; 6. S O’Callaghan (Skibbereen, F40) 48:05.

F45: 1. S Curran (unatt) 65:39.

F50: 1. E O’Mahony (unatt) 53:44; 2. M Latimer (Clonakilty RR) 54:44; 3. P McCarthy (unatt) 59:58.

F55: 1. M Kingston (Donore) 53:15; 2 R O’Mahony (unatt) 68:43.

F60: 1. M Deasy (unatt) 68:23.

FJ: 1. E McCarthy (Skibbereen) 48:08.

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.