Mount St Michael crowned county champs

April 23rd, 2018 1:00 PM

By Southern Star Team

The Mount St Michael team that won the Cork PPS senior B football final.

Share this article

The result of this Cork PPS senior B football final at Cork IT was never in doubt as Mount St Michael's dominant display was too much for Mitchelstown.

Mount St Michael, Rosscarbery 1-20

Mitchelstown CBS 2-7


THE result of this Cork PPS senior B football final at Cork IT was never in doubt as Mount St Michael’s dominant display was too much for Mitchelstown.

The Rosscarbery school had clocked up 1-8 before the north Cork side opened their scoring and continued with three strong scores. 

Mount St Michael led at the break by 1-9 to 2-1 – with Mitchelstown goals from Cathal O’Mahony (rebound from his penalty save by Aaron O’Brien) and Mark Keane giving Mitchelstown hope that they could catch up.

However, with Mount St Michael’s Darragh Hayes accounting for 1-8 overall and Patrick Hurley on five points, the victory was sealed. 

It was a great team performance – defensively strong, there were telling contributions too from captain Ellis Wilson, Ian Jennings and Mark Hodnett as they ran out deserving ten-point winners.

An overall team performance secured the win – the culmination of a great journey to the final with many difficult matches fought and won – the most notable being their one-point defeat of Coachford after extra time in the semi-final. After a five-year wait, the county cup returns to Mount St Michael.



Mount St Michael: D Hayes 1-8 (1f), P Hurley 0-5, E Wilson 0-3, P Hodnett, J O’Brien, M Hodnett, I Jennings 0-1 each. 

Mitchelstown CBS: C O’Mahony 1-6 (1f), M Keane 1-0, C Dollion 0-1.


Mount St Michael (Carbery Rangers unless stated): A O’Brien; D Kerr, P Óg Hill, M O’Sullivan; K Scannell, C Hennessy, D Tobin (Kilmacabea); M Hodnett, I Jennings (Kilmacabea); J O’Brien, E Wilson (Kilmacabea), B Kingston; D Hayes, P Hodnett, P Hurley. 

Subs: E Hayes (Carbery Rangers) for B Kingston (47, injured), A O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers) for D Hayes (60).


Mitchelstown CBS: T Watson (Kildorrery); C Whelton (Glanworth), T Vaughan (Ballyporeen), D Keane (Mitchelstown); D Connolly (Glanworth), D Hyland (Fr Sheehy’s), J Hunter (Kildorrery); M Keane (Mitchelstown), S Murphy (Mitchelstown); J White (Mitchelstown), C Harrington (Kildorrery), C Dollion (Kildorrery); M Caplice (Kildorrery), C O’Mahony (Mitchelstown), R Hennessy (Ballyporeen). 

Subs: T O’Sullivan (Kildorrery) for M Caplice (32), M Walsh O’Grady (Kildorrery) for J Hunter (40).

Share this article

Related content