Eight Bandon footballers selected on inaugural Carbery GAA Junior All-Stars team

December 7th, 2015 5:07 PM

By Southern Star Team

Stars in their eyes: The Carbery GAA Westlodge Hotel Junior Football All-Stars team pictured with GAA President Aogán Ó Fearghail (seated fifth from left), Cork County Board chairman Gerard Lane (back left), and Carbery Board Chairman John Corcoran (back, fifth from left).

Share this article

South West champions dominate the first Westlodge Hotel Carbery GAA Junior All-Stars team

EIGHT Bandon players were selected on the inaugural 2015 Westlodge Hotel Carbery Junior Football All-Stars team that was announced at the awards night last Friday.

Bandon were hugely impressive in their successful divisional and county championship campaigns as they won promotion to the intermediate football grade for 2016. As a result of an excellent season, Bandon led the way with eight football All-Stars, as Pat Prendergast, Patrick O’Brien, Eoghan O’Donovan, Peter Murphy, James Walsh, Darren Crowley, Mark Sugrue and Barry Collins were all chosen.

Losing South West finalists Kilmacabea have four players on the team – Niall Hayes, Clive Sweetnam, Martin Collins and Richie O’Sullivan – while Ray Collins (Kilmeen), John Daly (St Mary’s) and Frank Arundel (Muintir Bháire) were also selected after impressing the judges this past season.

The 2015 Westlodge Hotel Carbery Junior Football All-Stars team is as follows:

Pat Prendergast (Bandon): He’s been a regular on the Bandon team since 1997. He won his fourth South West junior football medal this season, and also captained the team that won the South West and county titles this year. He has also been the regular Carbery goalkeeper for many years, winning a county senior medal in 2004.

Patrick O’Brien (Bandon): A utility corner back on the winning Bandon side, he can play in various positions in defence and is a vital cog in the Bandon defensive system.

Niall Hayes (Kilmacabea): Had an absolutely outstanding year on the edge of the small square for Kilmacabea, Hayes won a league medal and was highly impressive in the South West championship final against Bandon.

Eoghan O’Donovan (Bandon): A ball of energy and a regular scorer, O’Donovan was used both as a marking corner back and also as a very effective roving player by Bandon. He was outstanding in the South West final.

Clive Sweetnam (Kilmacabea): A great servant of Kilmacabea football, he played great football all the year in various positions but is happiest as an attacking wing back. He also won a league medal this season.

Peter Murphy (Bandon): Strong and assertive, the Bandon man was the pivot of a fine Bandon defence all season. Was also used as a midfielder in emergency situations.

Ray Collins (Kilmeen): After many years of great service to Kilmeen, he finally won a fully-deserved county medal this season when his team won the county junior B football title. Collins was an inspiring wing back in every game.

Martin Collins (Kilmacabea): Just out of minor grade, the young Kilmac player, a member of a great Kilmac GAA family, was outstanding all season as a hard-working midfielder who loved driving forward with the ball.

James Walsh (Bandon): The term ‘engine of the team’ was manufactured for this player who has worked his socks off all season in the engine room for Bandon in their successful run to South West and county titles.

John Daly (St Mary’s): The youngest of three brothers playing for St Mary’s, he was the stand-out figure in St Mary’s attack all season, never having a bad game and always getting his name on the score-sheet.

Frank Arundel (Muintir Bháire): The veteran Muintir Bháire man has given all to his club and division down the years but was better than ever this season, either as a forward or midfield player. Like good wine, he gets better with age. Led Muintir to a very respectful quarter-final slot this season.

Darren Crowley (Bandon): The livewire of a Bandon attack that was in top form all season. His work-rate, competitiveness and never-say-die attitude were an inspiration to Bandon all year. 

Mark Sugrue (Bandon): A scoring machine in the Bandon forward line, he invariably picked up the man-of-the-match award or was the top scorer in every game he played this season. Played football and hurling for Cork and Carbery and has a great future. Scored the winning goal in the South West final and three goals in the county final. He was also named Carbery Junior Footballer of the Year on Friday night.

Barry Collins (Bandon): The find of the season for the Lilywhites, Collins was a revelation at full forward, kicking and creating scores. Highly competitive, he was unlucky to be injured at a vital part of the season. He’s a young player with a bright future.  

Richie O’Sullivan (Kilmacabea): An unstoppable force at corner forward for Kilmacabea this season, winning matches with his razor-sharp scoring ability. Almost won the South West final for his side as a one-man forward line against Bandon. He is an exciting footballer in full flight.

Share this article


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.