Darts awards hit bulls-eye in West Cork

May 30th, 2018 10:00 AM

By Southern Star Team

Members of the Annie Mays darts team that won the 2017/18 West Cork Senior League and The Paddy Hurley Senior Cup pictured at the West Cork Darts awards in The Eldon Hotel, Skibbereen; from left, Phil Kelliher, Brian Heraghty, John O'Donovan, Albert Harte, Niall McCarthy, Shane McCarthy, Paudie Hurl

Share this article

FORGET about the World Darts Championships and the Alexandra Palace in London, the recent West Cork Darts Association annual awards at the Eldon Hotel in Skibbereen was the biggest night of the darts year so far.

All the great and good of West Cork darts came together to celebrate and laud the winners from the 2017/18 season of top-class action.

As well as that, William O’Brien of The Corner Bar in Skibbereen was presented with a special Hall of Fame award.

The joint senior players of the year that were presented with awards are Declan Barron (Boston Bar), Ricky Daly (O Murchus) and Lewis O’Regan (Kearney’s Well).

The joint junior players of the year are Donagh McCarthy (Annie Mays) and Declan Hodnett (May Deanes), while Eamonn Connolly (The Gaelic Bar) was crowned the novice player of the year.

Marion Collins (May Deanes) and Sharon Kirby (The Galley Bar) were named the joint ladies’ player of the year.

Share this article

Related content


to our mailing list for the latest news and sport:

Thank You!

You have successfully been subscribed to SouthernStar newsletter!

Form submitting... Thank you for waiting.